STE DUAL TOS 1.62 & TOS206

Upgrade or replace the ROM.
Post Reply
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24081
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

STE DUAL TOS 1.62 & TOS206

Post by exxos »

Image

TOS 1.62 / 2.06 is selectable by a jumper on the board, or can be fitted with a toggle switch if required. This board can also be used as a "Fast TOS" upgrade with the V1 STE BOOSTER.



STORE LINK
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/#0048 (various langs available )

https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/#0059 (STE 32MHz BOOSTER)

HOME PAGE
http://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/last/t ... ETOSSWITCH



Addendum


When using any of my STE boosters with this particular series of dualtos boards ( be it the blue or black series) a 33R resistor should be placed series with the jumper wire between the DUALTOS board and the booster (CE line). This will help with some odd stability issues I have seen on a couple of motherboards.


2020 BATCH


Fits exactly the same as all previous boards.

IMG_5399.JPG
IMG_5399.JPG (402.83 KiB) Viewed 6191 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
beeka
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 5:40 pm

Re: STE DUAL TOS 1.62 & TOS206

Post by beeka »

Just getting around to finishing / fitting the dual tos board but my "jumpers" are configured differently... The board came with tos 1.6 in 32-pin ceramic eeproms (pretty sure I can feel a 'window' under the sticker. Both W104 and W102 have a 0ohm resistor linking pins 1 to 2. W103 appears to be linked from pin 2 to 3 on the pcb. Do I need to do anything before fitting the switching board?

Another question: about clearance... basically there is none and I expect the floppy drive not to fit. Some of this (~1mm) is down to my inexperienced assembly - I can see some of the pins could be soldered slightly closer to the board - but the rom socket feels quite high generally. I can't see it would ever fit... is there something I have done wrong?

Steve.
Attachments
DSC03398.jpg
DSC03398.jpg (193.37 KiB) Viewed 9618 times
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24081
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE DUAL TOS 1.62 & TOS206

Post by exxos »

The links are as in this image..

Image

If the board is assembled and pushed in correctly it does all fit..

Image

Though I don't recommend leaving it in sockets anyway.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
beeka
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 5:40 pm

Re: STE DUAL TOS 1.62 & TOS206

Post by beeka »

I've braved removing the link resistors and replace with jumpers (my first mobo work and amazed I didn't fry the board... one of those links just didn't want to be removed). Regarding the clearance, how close should the kit be to the sockets, as I can't get it flush (I considered trimming the pins) and things only go back together with some mechanical assistance... screwing the floppy disk in place has moved the board slightly. Is this normal?

I might end up taking your advice and solder into the mobo but will need to invest in a better desoldering solution to remove the sockets but don't have time to do that right now anyway.

Steve.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24081
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE DUAL TOS 1.62 & TOS206

Post by exxos »

I don't think the pins fully insert into the sockets, they are pretty long. So you could try trimming them if you can be accurate enough to keep them all the same length as you only need one pin to short and it won't end well :)

The board does need a good shove to insert fully into the MB sockets.. The PLCC socket should be level under the floppy drive normally as shown in the image. It shouldn't move when the floppy drive is in place.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24081
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE DUAL TOS 1.62 & TOS206

Post by exxos »

Addendum


When using any of my STE boosters with this particular series of dualtos boards ( be it the blue or black series) a 33R resistor should be placed series with the jumper wire between the DUALTOS board and the booster (CE line). This will help with some odd stability issues I have seen on a couple of motherboards.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10863
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: STE DUAL TOS 1.62 & TOS206

Post by rubber_jonnie »

I like to do the jumpers too, will do the same to my other STE next time it's in bits.
Jumpers.jpg
Jumpers.jpg (255.79 KiB) Viewed 9309 times
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
Colleton
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2020 11:04 pm

Re: STE DUAL TOS 1.62 & TOS206

Post by Colleton »

My STE Dual TOS board is a little different than the one pictured in the OP. Instead of three openings for jumper pins, I have two jumper pin openings (labeled GND and SEL) and a link resister. Do I install two jumper pins and then leave it open or jumpered to select one or the other TOS version?

Also, as I'm installing the STE DUAL TOS board do I still need to switch the link resistors on the motherboard around?

Thanks!
ste_dual_tos_sm.png
ste_dual_tos_sm.png (1.66 MiB) Viewed 7251 times
Colleton
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2020 11:04 pm

Re: STE DUAL TOS 1.62 & TOS206

Post by Colleton »

Never mind, I figured it out after reading more.

I installed jumpers for W102 and W104 on the motherboard, as well as a jumper on the STE Dual TOS board. With the W102/104 jumpers set to short pins 2&3 the dual TOS board works. I can boot to either 1.62 or 2.06 by adding (1.62) or removing (2.06) the jumper on the dual TOS board. YAY!!! 🍻🍻🍻

I ended up replacing the floppy drive with a GOTEK with a custom 3-D printed frame that took care of any problems with the drive hitting the board. I boot off an ultrasatan HD anyways.

Installed the Exxos 110v PSU I bought as well. Everything is looking good and working great. Thanks!
Dan1975
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 6:08 pm

Re: STE DUAL TOS 1.62 & TOS206

Post by Dan1975 »

Successfully installed my TOS Switcher complete with toggle switch this evening :D All tested and working well.

Next, the 32Mhz booster :? Lol
Post Reply

Return to “ROM UPGRADES”