TF520 with CDTV

TF520 - 68020 Board

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

Post Reply
utri007
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:20 pm

TF520 with CDTV

Post by utri007 »

Now TF520 Works with ram expansions and CDTV, but boot from CD-drive doesn't work. My five cents that should be really easy to fix?

That would make about 100 CDTV fans happy. :)Hopefully TF534 and others will work one day with CDTV, but that would take time and is different story.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF520 with CDTV

Post by terriblefire »

utri007 wrote: Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:27 pm Now TF520 Works with ram expansions and CDTV, but boot from CD-drive doesn't work. My five cents that should be really easy to fix?

That would make about 100 CDTV fans happy. :)Hopefully TF534 and others will work one day with CDTV, but that would take time and is different story.
Absolutely. I have a little gap until the TF330 board arrives. If i can find time i'll try this out.

Unfortunately its my turn on the live support rota at my clients this week so the time is reduced until Monday.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: TF520 with CDTV

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

Have already tried to run TF520 on CDTV . Card is working, but CD boot is corrupted, giving red tinted screen..
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
utri007
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:20 pm

Re: TF520 with CDTV

Post by utri007 »

Red tinted screen is sign of unbootable media. I get that screen if I try to boot unbootable media. Sorry to askin obivous, but you can boot that CD without TF520?
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: TF520 with CDTV

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

utri007 wrote: Fri Nov 16, 2018 6:42 am Red tinted screen is sign of unbootable media. I get that screen if I try to boot unbootable media. Sorry to askin obivous, but you can boot that CD without TF520?
this CD is burnt, but runs nice on stock CPU, also runs on CD32 without problems
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF520 with CDTV

Post by terriblefire »

Sounds like the CD driver may not like being run as 020 or with my timings.

Can you play a simple audio CD with it?
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: TF520 with CDTV

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

it plays CDs with stock CPU just fine. Previous firmware didn't booted at all, this last one is better, TF520 boots fine with extended ROMS disabled (jumper J15 removed) acts like a normal A500 then, just CD drive is picky..
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
utri007
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:20 pm

Re: TF520 with CDTV

Post by utri007 »

Sounds like the CD driver may not like being run as 020 or with my timings.
There is a (rare) 68030 accelerator for CDTV, wich is like TF520 it doesn't have ram. So extended roms works at least up to 68030.

I ques most relevant info is that red tinted screen is normal behaviour when media in CD-drive is not bootable.
utri007
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:20 pm

Re: TF520 with CDTV

Post by utri007 »

Any new for this?
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF520 with CDTV

Post by terriblefire »

It’s not likely I’ll get to looking at the CDTV this year.

I’ve not even had time to turn mine on :(

UPDATE: I had time to turn mine on!!! I plugged the TF520 in and nothing.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
Post Reply

Return to “TF520 (OBSOLETE)”