Floppy failure fix

The latest tweaks and fixes to keep your machine running in tip-top shape.
Locked
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23345
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Floppy failure fix

Post by exxos »

While there can be a lot of reasons for the floppy drive to fail, such as bad PSU, bad drive , incorrect drive id etc. If a known working drive works in a PC or in another machine but not in another, then it's possible the machine may need the pullup fix as stated below.

There is a lot of variation on pullup values built into drives that are simply inadequate and can be as high as 500K or may simply be missing all together. It is impossible to know what drives will malfunction as there are simply to many drives produced to realistically test them all. In general my findings were based on the MPF920 series of drive and some original drives where the added pullups solved the problems with intermittent drive failing issues. Adding a 1k resistor ensures your drive does not suffer from such problems.

Also note DMA issues can also causes issues for any attached drive regardless . I would recommend doing that mod first.

Below, the points in red need a generic 1K resistor connecting to 5V.

stemod.JPG
stemod.JPG (146.09 KiB) Viewed 7129 times

I did a quick example below...

IMG_3634.JPG
IMG_3634.JPG (6.27 MiB) Viewed 7129 times
IMG_3635.JPG
IMG_3635.JPG (5.64 MiB) Viewed 7129 times
IMG_3636.JPG
IMG_3636.JPG (5.42 MiB) Viewed 7129 times
IMG_3637.JPG
IMG_3637.JPG (4.97 MiB) Viewed 7129 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23345
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Floppy failure fix - WIP

Post by exxos »

FALCON MOD

Basically the same as above, but on U35 on the Falcon. PIn4 already has a pull-up so there is no need to add another one.

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (137.48 KiB) Viewed 5857 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
friijy2001
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:34 pm

Re: Floppy failure fix - WIP

Post by friijy2001 »

This is one of my last fixes I would like to do in my STFM before closing the case so to speak. The is locating the chip on this machine as it may not be in the same/similar location. I have a HD7406P in socket U14 on my board which has the same pin count. Is this the same/similar chip?
Call me Stephen :)
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23345
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Floppy failure fix - WIP

Post by exxos »

Should be yes. Must be s old machine not to have a LS variant.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
friijy2001
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:34 pm

Re: Floppy failure fix - WIP

Post by friijy2001 »

Managed to find this, it looks like the pin layout is the same too.

https://www.futurlec.com/74/IC7406.shtml
Call me Stephen :)
Locked

Return to “TWEAKS & FIXES”