BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Progress on our FPGA cores.
Post Reply
User avatar
rpineau
Posts: 534
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by rpineau »

The MAX10 has an internal flash so you don't need an external eeprom to store the code.
So you use the JTAG connection to either push the code to the RAM to test ro the flash when done.
There is probably a few pins to connect to ground/vcc to select which mode you're in.
I haven't look at it closely .
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24182
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by exxos »

rpineau wrote: Fri Sep 07, 2018 11:45 pm The MAX10 has an internal flash so you don't need an external eeprom to store the code.
So you use the JTAG connection to either push the code to the RAM to test ro the flash when done.
There is probably a few pins to connect to ground/vcc to select which mode you're in.
I haven't look at it closely .
So just need to add JTAG connector like normal then..

But at what point does the eeprom come into it all, looks like the cyclone uses it, but why ? Maybe devices get to large for internal flash or something ? :shrug:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
rpineau
Posts: 534
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by rpineau »

Some FGPA do not have internal flash, or not enough to hold the whole code. That's when they need external EEPROM.
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2
User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 714
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by Smonson »

exxos wrote: Fri Sep 07, 2018 11:48 pm But at what point does the eeprom come into it all, looks like the cyclone uses it, but why ? Maybe devices get to large for internal flash or something ? :shrug:
Another reason is that the end user's total flash storage space requirement is not known, so this way they can choose an appropriately-sized flash device that includes the fpga configuration data, program code for soft CPUs, and other data assets all in one device.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24182
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by exxos »

Smonson wrote: Sat Sep 08, 2018 1:11 am Another reason is that the end user's total flash storage space requirement is not known, so this way they can choose an appropriately-sized flash device that includes the fpga configuration data, program code for soft CPUs, and other data assets all in one device.
Makes sense, though also annoying as its a extra part.. I assume the next part from the MAXX10 series is the cyclone and all those need external flash. thankfully I am ok for now. Though when cores start getting more integrated, I will have to go with cyclone..
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Posts: 1505
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 7:37 pm

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by mrbombermillzy »

exxos wrote: Fri Sep 07, 2018 11:14 pm Well, one thing to bare in mind , is the blitter "isn't" a video generator of any kind.. it doesn't really know anything of resolutions and colours.. its a device to basically shift and edit blocks of data to and from ram quickly... There may not be any other functions which could be added...
Yeah, dont mind me. I should just quit posting stuff. For some reason I was thinking of a Shifter re-creation. Even then some of that stuff was pushing it a bit :oops:
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24182
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by exxos »

Spending today routing this board...

Buffers on top of the board (red layer) and FPGA on bottom (blue layer).
c1.JPG
c1.JPG (73.62 KiB) Viewed 5093 times

Top route highlighted.
d1.JPG
d1.JPG (57.58 KiB) Viewed 5093 times

Bottom route highlighted.
d2.JPG
d2.JPG (58.79 KiB) Viewed 5093 times

So routing should be doable, albeit very time consuming..

I still need to add the 3.3V regulator and JTAG header, but also much routing to do yet anyway..

I might be able to squash the regulator in a corner.. though the JTAG header will take a lot of room, I *might* just have some solder wires on the pcb as once programmed it shouldn't need editing again anyway.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
rpineau
Posts: 534
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by rpineau »

Isn't part of the idea of using a FPGA is to be able to also add new function to the blitter .. thus reprograming it as needed ... which requires a JTAG header ... sorry to be a party pooper ;)
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24182
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by exxos »

rpineau wrote: Mon Sep 10, 2018 2:57 pm Isn't part of the idea of using a FPGA is to be able to also add new function to the blitter .. thus reprograming it as needed ... which requires a JTAG header ... sorry to be a party pooper ;)
Yeah, but when/if that will happen ? Not important for now really either way.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24182
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: BLITTER RE-CREATION THOUGHTS

Post by exxos »

Getting there...

Nice space right in the middle for the 3.3V reg :)

top.jpg
top.jpg (134.51 KiB) Viewed 5069 times
bot.jpg
bot.jpg (121.03 KiB) Viewed 5069 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Post Reply

Return to “FPGA DEVELOPMENT”