DualTOS assembly accident

Problems with your machine in general.
User avatar
Bobrane
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:24 am
Location: France

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by Bobrane »

Thanks for your answer.
The CPU is a new HC, and the socket bas been cleaned when mounted. I'll have a look again.
Have a nice day!
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10863
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by rubber_jonnie »

Just as a sidenote, I replaced the zero ohm jumpers in the board for W102-W104, with proper jumpers, and although I don't think it is necessary with the Dual TOS adapter, it does give you options for troubleshooting.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24082
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by exxos »

I have had iffy connections on jumpers which drove me nuts for ages one time :(

Even so, TOS does actually almost boot with wrong settings.. though the Atari Fuji is a black square and it crashes somewhere just after that.

I don't understand how one TOS would work and another does not though :shrug: The only issues I have seen/heard of is when people have bad ROM sockets on the motherboard.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Bobrane
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:24 am
Location: France

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by Bobrane »

Thanks a lot,
Yes, I was thinking myself about the jumpers. Maybe i will replace them by real jumpers to be sure.
Also, i need to try the 1.62 TOS deeper, because i only saw the desktop. I didn't try to run anything. Just opened up the menu "about" and saw the rainbow fuji. It seemed to be fine though.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24082
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by exxos »

Do a long ram test run just to be sure...

https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/forum/viewt ... ?f=25&t=28
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Bobrane
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:24 am
Location: France

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by Bobrane »

Thank you Exxos,

I made some little "progress".
I've put back my stock TOS 1.62 chips and the board still throws 4 or 11 bombs
I've changed the memory to the stock 4x256Mo >> no change
I've put back the factory power supply >> no change
I've cleaned again the cpu contacts >> no change
I've unplugged the floppy drive >> the board boots up and launch the GEM !
Power OFF, replugged the floppy drive, power ON >> the board boots up and launch GEM. So i launched YAART and let it run for 15 passes >> no errors.
Right after that i've launched GEMBENCH, and got 11 bombs. Power OFF then ON, GEM restarts fine. I've launched GEMBENCH but GEM restarted right away and got me back to desktop.

It seems that i somewhat damaged my motherboard, but really don't know how nor where ...
Before attempting to add the dual TOS she was running fine.
I'm currently stuck in the dark :cry:
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24082
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by exxos »

I would get a STE diagnostic cart, then you can test things better.. might be bad ROM sockets... happens a lot.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Bobrane
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:24 am
Location: France

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by Bobrane »

Hi again, Exxos, and hi all readers of my adventures :D

It seems my motherboard don't like running outside of its metal shield.
I've put it back inside the shield, closed carefully every locks and she booted fine, currently running GEMBENCH.
Weird, isn't it ?
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24082
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by exxos »

Bobrane wrote: Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:55 pm Hi again, Exxos, and hi all readers of my adventures :D

It seems my motherboard don't like running outside of its metal shield.
I've put it back inside the shield, closed carefully every locks and she booted fine, currently running GEMBENCH.
Weird, isn't it ?
You don't have 9 chip RAM do you by any chance ?
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Bobrane
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:24 am
Location: France

Re: DualTOS assembly accident

Post by Bobrane »

No, i have 3 chips 1Mb Goldstar Modules.
Ref : GMM791000NS70.
Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE ISSUES”