STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Help & information about the STE V1 series boosters.
Locked
User avatar
Maeke
Posts: 260
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by Maeke »

well 36 is still a huge gain from the stock cpu.
If i take too long to reply, sorry my cat is sleeping on my laps.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos »

The green board has been running almost 3 hours now.. so that seems ok.

Will try building up a couple more tomorrow and see if they work fine...

I may also try (again) to solder the header pins in one go as well. I ended in a mess trying that last time with the pins on the MMU adapter... https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/forum/viewt ... 334&p=2056
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos »

Back to the sockets..

So as suspected, the motherboard with integrated blitter has a foxconn where the booster doesn't want to stay in the socket without being forced.

The TZT socket ( external blitter) is the one I designed the booster on, and fits perfectly.

I can't really fix that issue without doing 2 seperate booster revisions for each socket (they maybe more brands!) and even had to do (5 I think ) revisions before I got it to fit that socket correctly.

I think really the booster needs a re-design to look more like the previous V1 layout. Where the CPU is "outside" the PLCC socket, then header pins could be placed in the correct place in the socket.. but then thats going to need a 4 layer board, twice the cost.. the PCB would be twice the size.. twice the cost.. and testing would have to be done all over again..

If I was doing a larger board, I would use a larger PLD and add ROM on there as well.. but thats gone back to designing a whole new booster again. Just not worth the time and costs involved.

So I may do a tweaked revision to fit the foxconn sockets better, but for now, people will just have to put up with it staying in the sockets on its own.

IMG_3580.JPG
IMG_3580.JPG (620.02 KiB) Viewed 4212 times
IMG_3581.JPG
IMG_3581.JPG (409.91 KiB) Viewed 4212 times

This was just funny....
IMG_3582.JPG
IMG_3582.JPG (379.55 KiB) Viewed 4212 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos »

Next test batch of 4 in the oven...

IMG_3584.JPG
IMG_3584.JPG (102.33 KiB) Viewed 4180 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
sandord
Posts: 678
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by sandord »

exxos wrote: Thu Nov 22, 2018 3:07 pm Next test batch of 4 in the oven...


IMG_3584.JPG
Looks like you have some space left for cookies.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos »

Onto close inspection...

in.JPG
in.JPG (187 KiB) Viewed 4245 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos »

First one is now testing :)

Despite best efforts on checking, one of the CPU pins was not contacting the PCB. A quick heat up with the soldering iron fixed that.

I could really do with a quicker way of testing that sort of thing. Currently I have to go round all the CPU pins with my multimeter to check for shorts, then go round them all again between the CPU pins and the header pins. :roll:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6049
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by PhilC »

At least you know the cause. Nothing worse than something that won't work but you don't know why.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos »

Forgottenmyname wrote: Thu Nov 22, 2018 5:03 pm At least you know the cause. Nothing worse than something that won't work but you don't know why.
Yeah, I am hoping these new boards all work... though I am now thinking of "junking" the red boards :roll:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos »

Number 3 built up and now under test.

I have tweaked the PCB to include the "fast mode" resistor. Also I have made the header pin via's outer diameter small from 1mm to 0.9mm.. It is nightmare enough to solder such small pins, but when they have shored in between them, it's a right bugger to separate!

Also ordered more 36MHz osc's and 2 more soldering iron tips as the one I am using I think is slightly too big for this work.

I have also done a second header template which I think will fit the Foxcon sockets better. But I will not really know until the PCBs made could be a while away yet.

I need to finish building up this batch of about 10 to see if these boards are being more reliable with assembly than the previous red boards.

So far there does not appear to have been any issues with not having the SIL resistors on the booster board. I still need to verify this on some other STE's yet though.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Locked

Return to “STE V1 SERIES 32MHz BOOSTER”