STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Help & information about the STE V1 series boosters.
Locked
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6049
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by PhilC »

Which makes sense as you'd put the dip socket on that board instead, which also makes more sense from a reliability point of view with dips being less did say about bad connections.

So I will probably leave the booster in the STE for now.

Will happily be a guinea pig again for the sec booster once you've created it, as will fix up the new STFM hopefully over the weekend.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos »

Forgottenmyname wrote: Tue Oct 30, 2018 8:46 pm Which makes sense as you'd put the dip socket on that board instead, which also makes more sense from a reliability point of view with dips being less did say about bad connections.
The header pins on these things are so tiny and not easy to get to either. It be a lot easier to have normal header pins like the STFM boosters.

2 of these new STE ones are not working.. no idea why, but its like 50% failure rate so far :roll:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6049
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by PhilC »

I can imagine. Far too easy to create a dry joint or to bridge two pins.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by troed »

I have a feeling I've asked this once and now forgotten what the answer was. Sorry, but:

Can these be switched between 8/max while running, without the STE locking up?
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos »

troed wrote: Tue Oct 30, 2018 9:58 pm I have a feeling I've asked this once and now forgotten what the answer was. Sorry, but:

Can these be switched between 8/max while running, without the STE locking up?
They can switch in real time yes... They actually do that when accessing the ACIA anyway.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by troed »

Alright, time for me to get one then :)

(secret mission: New GAL project to switch from software)
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos »

troed wrote: Tue Oct 30, 2018 10:09 pm (secret mission: New GAL project to switch from software)
Cool! Might actually get that integrated into the SEC booster ,so choose a good register ;)
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
PaulJ
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by PaulJ »

exxos wrote: Tue Oct 30, 2018 8:57 pm
Forgottenmyname wrote: Tue Oct 30, 2018 8:46 pm Which makes sense as you'd put the dip socket on that board instead, which also makes more sense from a reliability point of view with dips being less did say about bad connections.
The header pins on these things are so tiny and not easy to get to either. It be a lot easier to have normal header pins like the STFM boosters.

2 of these new STE ones are not working.. no idea why, but its like 50% failure rate so far :roll:
I'll add my 2 cents which canbe taken with a grain of salt. I've been doing embbeded software since there was such a thing. I have spent lots and lots of time trouble shooting hardware and I can assure you your much better off without sockets. All sockets are is a potential bad connection. I can't tell you how many times I ran into boards where the golden rule was to reseat all the chips. A few times of that and you have issues that continue to multiply. The milled pin dips are the only socket I have any confidence in. I have a st1040 with the 1.5 booster, 4 mb sim memory upgrade, and fast rom boards which are all soldered in. Thing is solid as a rock. In general sockets are just like drugs... just say NO. Socketed upgrades are easier to install but there not as reliable.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos »

PaulJ wrote: Tue Oct 30, 2018 10:52 pm I'll add my 2 cents which canbe taken with a grain of salt. I've been doing embbeded software since there was such a thing. I have spent lots and lots of time trouble shooting hardware and I can assure you your much better off without sockets. All sockets are is a potential bad connection.
I take it you have not seen this post then ?

https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/forum/viewt ... ?f=23&t=74

The first ste booster was solder in, because of socket issues... Problem is, most people destroyed their ste in the process... So I did a plug in booster which is the lesser of the 2 evils for people.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
PaulJ
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by PaulJ »

exxos wrote: Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:07 pm
I take it you have not seen this post then ?

https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/forum/viewt ... ?f=23&t=74

The first ste booster was solder in, because of socket issues... Problem is, most people destroyed their ste in the process... So I did a plug in booster which is the lesser of the 2 evils for people.
I did see it not to mention I had the similar experience with your glitter and socket converter that had extremely strong socket contact springiness. When I put that glitter in the board it did not work because I believe the glitter pins were compressed enough so they all didn't make contact with the weaker sockets I used on the board. Popped a glitter out of an mega and it worked fine. Never the less sockets are trouble!! As you point out. You should be commended for making the effort to have plug in enhancements for the soldering challenged among us although it makes the effort much more challenging. :thumbup: :thumbup:
Locked

Return to “STE V1 SERIES 32MHz BOOSTER”