CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC 64MHz 68000)

Information and news about the 68SEC000 64MHz booster.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24200
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos »

Fast ram has nothing to do with st ram. So you can have the normal 4mb st ram plus 8mb fast ram.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6063
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by PhilC »

exxos wrote: Sun Nov 25, 2018 2:07 am Fast ram has nothing to do with st ram. So you can have the normal 4mb st ram plus 8mb fast ram.
Ok that's what I thought. I'd better decide how I'm upgrading it to 4mb then.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
PaulJ
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by PaulJ »

Have my mega 4 setting here just waiting for it. Just pop the 1.5 out and were ready. :excited: :excited: :excited:
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24200
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos »

I will try and find some time this week to build up one for testing.. i need to finish up the STE boosters as can only work on one machine at a time :)

The firmware *should* be compatible with the previous V2.2 booster...
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24200
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos »

I've plugged in my SEC booster to help TF with his floppy write problem, which I seem to have as well :roll:

IMG_3730.JPG
IMG_3730.JPG (159.55 KiB) Viewed 4654 times

Long story short, seems there needs to be a delay on CPU_DTACK after a DMA cycle. So I run ST_BGACK though a FF clocked on 8MHz to buffer/delay the signal and add it to my CPU_DTACK delay logic. So normal RAM access works same speed as before, but CPU is stalled with DTACK a extra 8MHz cycle after a DMA cycle..



The problem is, I get this at the start of each format..

IMG_3733.JPG
IMG_3733.JPG (89.46 KiB) Viewed 4654 times

Formatting a floppy works fine now though (was just resetting after a couple of track formats). Not really sure if that error is a booster error or a "bug" in TOS due to the faster (50MHz) CPU ?

I will add on the pull ups onto the DMA just to see if that has anything to do with it also...
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24200
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos »

So the pull up fixes on the DMA & 1772 didn't help..

But when the drive motor is off, and I click OK to format, I get that error.. if I wait for the motor to turn off, I can repeat the error every time.. if I click retry while the motor is on, it works fine.

Even more odd, it works fine with a original 720K drive.. hmm..... :stars:

Oddly the format fails towards the end with my 720K drive (bad floppy probably) and I get that error and can't get any further by clicking RETRY.. I guess because the motor is now off.. very odd....

EDIT:
The 720K failing format and the error happens with the stock 68000, so must be a TOS issue...
The diagnostic cart reports no floppy issues..

I will try FCOPYIII....Seems to work ok as well..
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 913
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by troed »

Don't know if it's related but on the doubleST I've had, several times, that "everything" seemed to work ok except floppy. So far it's been fixed by "luck" just shifting the clocks about a bit - which if I've understood your comments before mostly means I've skewed DTACK.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24200
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos »

troed wrote: Fri Jan 04, 2019 8:39 am Don't know if it's related but on the doubleST I've had, several times, that "everything" seemed to work ok except floppy. So far it's been fixed by "luck" just shifting the clocks about a bit - which if I've understood your comments before mostly means I've skewed DTACK.
I never thought about it with the floppy acting up... Can you format a floppy OK on it now then or does that act up still?

For me its odd, but seems more like a TOS problem as only gem format seems to be malfunctioning..
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24200
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos »

I seem to have solved this odd error issue now..

boo.JPG
boo.JPG (35.41 KiB) Viewed 4303 times

Oddly the 720K drive which was working, wasn't working this morning. One of those red-herrings which throw you off!

So I have delayed ST_AS by another CPU clock cycle.. So now I have..

Code: Select all

AS1.CK = CLK8;
AS1.D = CPU_AS # !ST_BGACK ;

AS2.CK = CLK16;
AS2.D = AS1 # CPU_AS # !ST_BGACK  ;  // have to use this to prevent floppy format issues

ST_AS.AR = !RESET;
ST_AS.CK = CLK16;
ST_AS.D = AS2 # CPU_AS # !ST_BGACK ;   
ST_AS.OE = ST_BGACK   ;   

Before I was only using AS1 for the ST_AS.D input, now its AS2 and the issue seems to be resolved 8-)

Crappy cam video .. ( I can't hold the cam and use keys to move the mouse at the same time!)


https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24200
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos »

What's been annoying me is I have no output to decode ROM.. Now I have the new dualtos boards with TOS104/206, its bodge wire time on the SEC's PLD...

bw.jpg
bw.jpg (112.93 KiB) Viewed 4295 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Post Reply

Return to “SEC 64MHZ BOOSTER”