Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Progress on our FPGA cores.
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4004
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Icky »

Smonson wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 10:23 am Thanks for the good advice czietz.

I've uploaded a new version of the test disk here:
http://smonson.com/unmanaged/atari/shifter-test-2.st
http://smonson.com/unmanaged/atari/shifter-test-2.hfe

On seeing an unexpected shifter value, it reads a word from 0xFA0000. In between shifter reads, it does 15,000 reads of a memory location to add a delay. Also, it will trigger when any bit is set outside the binary mask 0000001100000000.
I have just captured a video of running this. Also wanted to show you the warts and all process of getting to run this with the resetting and sometimes out of phase TOS message screens. Just uploading video so will post shortly.
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4004
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Icky »

Icky wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 10:59 am
Smonson wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 10:23 am Thanks for the good advice czietz.

I've uploaded a new version of the test disk here:
http://smonson.com/unmanaged/atari/shifter-test-2.st
http://smonson.com/unmanaged/atari/shifter-test-2.hfe

On seeing an unexpected shifter value, it reads a word from 0xFA0000. In between shifter reads, it does 15,000 reads of a memory location to add a delay. Also, it will trigger when any bit is set outside the binary mask 0000001100000000.
I have just captured a video of running this. Also wanted to show you the warts and all process of getting to run this with the resetting and sometimes out of phase TOS message screens. Just uploading video so will post shortly.
This is a warts and all to show the resetting many times and eventually getting to the program. Only interaction with ST is pressing escape to speed boot process.

It shows reboots with out of phase TOS boot message, running the program and dropping directly to desktop and resetting. Then finally running the program with output around the 1 min 30 sec mark.

User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 711
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson »

Thanks Icky. That odd boot screen is probably due to the shifter being in one resolution and TOS in another. I'm sure it will go away when the read issue is resolved.
ijor
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:45 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by ijor »

Smonson wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 11:38 amThanks Icky. That odd boot screen is probably due to the shifter being in one resolution and TOS in another. I'm sure it will go away when the read issue is resolved.
It might be better to run the program from the boot sector instead of from the AUTO folder. Much less chances that it would trigger a reset.
http://github.com/ijor/fx68k 68000 cycle exact FPGA core
FX CAST Cycle Accurate Atari ST core
http://pasti.fxatari.com
ijor
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:45 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by ijor »

Icky wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 10:59 am I have just captured a video of running this. Also wanted to show you the warts and all process of getting to run this with the resetting and sometimes out of phase TOS message screens. Just uploading video so will post shortly.
Icky, which chipset version you have on that machine? If you don't know, please post a picture of your MMU chip.

PS: Why my posts still need to be approved after so many posts ??? Do I need to make something?
http://github.com/ijor/fx68k 68000 cycle exact FPGA core
FX CAST Cycle Accurate Atari ST core
http://pasti.fxatari.com
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4004
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Icky »

ijor wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 12:31 pm
Icky wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 10:59 am I have just captured a video of running this. Also wanted to show you the warts and all process of getting to run this with the resetting and sometimes out of phase TOS message screens. Just uploading video so will post shortly.
Icky, which chipset version you have on that machine? If you don't know, please post a picture of your MMU chip.

PS: Why my posts still need to be approved after so many posts ??? Do I need to make something?
Am currently running this on STF Remake but the the whole chipset is from a donor board C070789-001 REV F.

MMU
IMG_3362.png
IMG_3362.png (500.07 KiB) Viewed 4111 times

For posting you are currently assigned as a newly registered user. Exxos or another admin can move you to the registered users group.
ijor
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:45 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by ijor »

Icky wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 1:21 pmAm currently running this on STF Remake ...
OH!! This is not good. Does Smonson know? Well, now he knows, but did he know before?

This has to be tested on an original computer, as vanilla as possible. Otherwise it is almost impossible to know if the problem is on the motherboard remake or on the HDMI board. Did you test it also with another computer, or only on the STF Remake?
http://github.com/ijor/fx68k 68000 cycle exact FPGA core
FX CAST Cycle Accurate Atari ST core
http://pasti.fxatari.com
User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 711
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson »

It's fine. The remake is known to run with a real shifter, plus the exact same behaviour is observed on Troed's machines. Any hypotheses applicable to Icky's machine can be confirmed by Troed when he's able to find time.

I'm not overflowing with other options, I'm very grateful to have Icky and the remake board on my side (as well as everyone else who is contributing their time to find the solution to this issue) - since I cannot reproduce it on my machine.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6049
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by PhilC »

Would you like further help? I can try it on a Mega ST and an STFM if you wish?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4004
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Icky »

Smonson wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 2:33 pm It's fine. The remake is known to run with a real shifter, plus the exact same behaviour is observed on Troed's machines. Any hypotheses applicable to Icky's machine can be confirmed by Troed when he's able to find time.

I'm not overflowing with other options, I'm very grateful to have Icky and the remake board on my side (as well as everyone else who is contributing their time to find the solution to this issue) - since I cannot reproduce it on my machine.
Thanks Smonson - I have also tried this on my 520STM and it behaves exactly the same. For me using the STF Remake is easier as its a bit of an ST test bed. I like to keep my original machines pristine and in their original form.

What will be great when we solve this issue we can have this running in original STs and also may be as an add-on board for the remake. Both the remake and HDMI board are fantastic projects and together they will help the community.
Post Reply

Return to “FPGA DEVELOPMENT”