Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Progress on our FPGA cores.
troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by troed »

exxos wrote: Fri Aug 31, 2018 7:20 pm This is a bad fix..

But it solves my problem.. Where ever that 16MHz is going (middle right pin of U2) it needs 100R in there..
(I've now reverted my FPGA to "stock" with the idea that if I solve what causes the resets on my 520 that might help in finding out why they happen on my doubleST)

So my first guess is to replicate your fix above, so I added a small cap. Didn't make a difference though. Just for reference, what value did you use?

(Now I'll cut the trace and add some resistance instead)
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24182
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos »

troed wrote: Sun Sep 09, 2018 4:41 pm So my first guess is to replicate your fix above, so I added a small cap. Didn't make a difference though. Just for reference, what value did you use?
I think it was 50pf.

The ringing on the line likely causing some glitches in the clock causing the machine to lock up .
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by troed »

Shot a video just to show what I mean with "spontaneous resets". This is without touching anything. Disregard the failed video mode at some resets, that's not relevant (unless it indicates something about what happens, I don't know) - it's the resets themselves that are of interest.

https://troed.ddns.net/f/4c164bc45c284ef0888b/

This is from a 520ST with a picoPSU and the stock FPGA with its own 32.000MHz crystal. There's some pF on the 16MHz clock out - no difference with or without.

I have what seems to be the same resets, although seemingly much more often, when I run it in my doubleST. There a GAL produce all clocks, incl. the one for the FPGA. The FPGA clock out is _not_ used - and those GAL-generated clocks are stable when using a stock Shifter instead of the FPGA.

So now I'm going to debug this issue on the 520 instead ... I'm still not sure why the ST always resets instead of crashes/bombs etc. I think that's a bit surprising.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24182
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos »

troed wrote: Sun Sep 09, 2018 5:46 pm So now I'm going to debug this issue on the 520 instead ... I'm still not sure why the ST always resets instead of crashes/bombs etc. I think that's a bit surprising.

I can't get anything to show on the video, either on the page or downloading it..

May be a good idea to scope out the clocks and see what you have on them all.. The capacitor actually makings the ringing worse, but oddly works on my machine.. So a resistors in series with the clocks is a much better idea..

Probably is a good idea to try on a stock machine as well.. I would assume it will work fine (as it does on my STFM).
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by troed »

exxos wrote: Sun Sep 09, 2018 9:54 pm Probably is a good idea to try on a stock machine as well.. I would assume it will work fine (as it does on my STFM).
This is on a stock machine - the 520.

(The video should be a standard .mov - but I'll recode to mp4 container as well)
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24182
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos »

troed wrote: Sun Sep 09, 2018 10:07 pm This is on a stock machine - the 520.
Ah, so you have the reset problem with your doubleST AND a stock 520 ?
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by troed »

exxos wrote: Sun Sep 09, 2018 10:11 pm
troed wrote: Sun Sep 09, 2018 10:07 pm This is on a stock machine - the 520.
Ah, so you have the reset problem with your doubleST AND a stock 520 ?
Yes. On the 520 the clocks are generated by the FPGA, using the Shifter socket clock_out for the rest of the ICs.

On the doubleST the clocks are generated by the GAL, for all ICs including the FPGA.

... so I'm really not sure it's the clocks since I see no overlapping path, but I have no other idea. Both machines are rock solid with original Shifters.

It's not: /BERR, /HALT, VCC (!), /DTACK, /MONOMON.

The LA shows normal activity AFAIK right up until RESET. I have no idea how any component in the Shifter socket can cause this. Even if the FPGA is somehow malfunctioning, how would it induce spontaneous resets?
Screen Shot 2018-09-09 at 19.43.50.png
Screen Shot 2018-09-09 at 19.43.50.png (90.68 KiB) Viewed 4279 times
MP4 video: https://troed.ddns.net/f/b9c4521ba36a499aadd1/
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24182
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos »

Very odd...

What board exactly are you using ? I can try and find same board here to try out..
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by troed »

exxos wrote: Sun Sep 09, 2018 11:43 pm Very odd...

What board exactly are you using ? I can try and find same board here to try out..
C070243 REV.I (520STM)

Even if there's something different with my FPGA prototype compared to yours I still don't understand how ...
User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 714
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson »

To eliminate the possibility of power supply issues, could you try running the machine with the stock shifter installed, but with the FPGA board connected to just +5, ground, and vysnc? If possible, from somewhere connected close to the shifter socket. Then it should run through video generation just by itself and possibly introduce power supply or ground noise.
Post Reply

Return to “FPGA DEVELOPMENT”