NEC MultiSync EA190M

All information relating to connecting your ST to a modern TV/monitor.
Steve
Posts: 2681
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: NEC MultiSync EA190M

Post by Steve »

@thesofa @exxos

The monitor manuals rarely ever say 15khz, check out the 15khz monitor wiki: http://15khz.wikidot.com/

It lists the 190M as 'partial' support which looks about right.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: NEC MultiSync EA190M

Post by exxos »

If I remember rightly, not all monitors are created equally despite the same model number.

I think the trick would just be to find a older TV / monitor which has VGA input.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
thesofa
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2021 3:51 pm
Location: Co. Durham, UK

Re: NEC MultiSync EA190M

Post by thesofa »

exxos wrote: Thu Oct 28, 2021 12:47 pm If I remember rightly, not all monitors are created equally despite the same model number.

I think the trick would just be to find a older TV / monitor which has VGA input.
I think I have found one here
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/224514845624 ... SwLqJg2vEX
Just ordered it
TT030 with Storm with 256 Mb Ram, Thunder with a CF drive and Lightning, HxC floppy emulator and one of Codekiller's magical Mono/Colour switchers, also 3 STS one has TOS1.0 AND 2.06 switchable with an HD drive, the other two are untested as yet, just bought for spares!!
User avatar
JezC
Posts: 2156
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: NEC MultiSync EA190M

Post by JezC »

@thesofa Nice find! It will be good to hear how you find it to be with your setup.

I've watched the listing in case they are worth buying in the near future.... ;)
thesofa
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2021 3:51 pm
Location: Co. Durham, UK

Re: NEC MultiSync EA190M

Post by thesofa »

@JezC It will be about a week before it gets here
TT030 with Storm with 256 Mb Ram, Thunder with a CF drive and Lightning, HxC floppy emulator and one of Codekiller's magical Mono/Colour switchers, also 3 STS one has TOS1.0 AND 2.06 switchable with an HD drive, the other two are untested as yet, just bought for spares!!
User avatar
Badwolf
Posts: 2288
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: NEC MultiSync EA190M

Post by Badwolf »

Joining in with this necrothread...

I have a 1970NXp. Same interface, same scaling effects in low res evident in Exxos' screenshots.

Seems to go OK for occasional 15kHz use, but I wouldn't really recommend it unless it fell in your lap dirt cheap. Doesn't seem to like interlaced modes.

The manual also states it's a 31kHz minimum. I'd guess all these NEC multisyncs are basically the same chipset and will likely all behave the same way.

Cheers,

BW.
DFB1 Open source 50MHz 030 and TT-RAM accelerator for the Falcon
DSTB1 Open source 16Mhz 68k and AltRAM accelerator for the ST
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
FrontBench The Frontier: Elite 2 intro as a benchmark
thesofa
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2021 3:51 pm
Location: Co. Durham, UK

Re: NEC MultiSync EA190M

Post by thesofa »

How does £36.79 sound incl delivery?
TT030 with Storm with 256 Mb Ram, Thunder with a CF drive and Lightning, HxC floppy emulator and one of Codekiller's magical Mono/Colour switchers, also 3 STS one has TOS1.0 AND 2.06 switchable with an HD drive, the other two are untested as yet, just bought for spares!!
thesofa
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2021 3:51 pm
Location: Co. Durham, UK

Re: NEC MultiSync EA190M

Post by thesofa »

thesofa wrote: Thu Oct 28, 2021 1:23 pm
exxos wrote: Thu Oct 28, 2021 12:47 pm If I remember rightly, not all monitors are created equally despite the same model number.

I think the trick would just be to find a older TV / monitor which has VGA input.
I think I have found one here
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/224514845624 ... SwLqJg2vEX
Just ordered it
It has arrived and is now finally set up after waiting 2 months for ST2VGA from Centurion, I have tested it both on My TT and on the STE and it works fine in all resolutions on both machines and it was £36.79 incl delivery
TT030 with Storm with 256 Mb Ram, Thunder with a CF drive and Lightning, HxC floppy emulator and one of Codekiller's magical Mono/Colour switchers, also 3 STS one has TOS1.0 AND 2.06 switchable with an HD drive, the other two are untested as yet, just bought for spares!!
Post Reply

Return to “DISPLAYS & CONVERTERS”