The TF536 arrives

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 579
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: The TF536 arrives

Post by supaduper »

Hi Viktor, yes it does look like the 40mhz are now only freescale and I have bought a shit load over the last six months, also with the burst mode on the TF330 then some will not run when overclocked 50mhz but I was prepared for that and so have priced it in the CPU cost ,as mine have a fail rate of about 5 out of a batch of 20 so 25%, I also stress them for 12 hours to make sure they will be stable,
So the ones that will run at 40hz only I will probably sell as a cost reduced TF330 so people can have a choice, its all about options sometimes, I just hope people appreciate the time and expense expended :)
project23
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed May 15, 2019 8:54 pm

Re: The TF536 arrives

Post by project23 »

I hope it doesn't get as bad as the 020FG's... The only way I could get a genuine one of those was to buy an old SCSI card with one soldered to it!

It's a shame. I mean i'd rather they didn't relabel them. Even if it meant most of the chips out there were 25's and 33's, at least we'd know where we stand!

By the way, I think it might be a good idea to have a thread with members images of their chips, so we can compare/contrast labels from the same year and place of origin. Sometimes the label alone can be very very telling.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5423
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF536 arrives

Post by terriblefire »

If the 030s disappear i'll stop doing 030 boards. It doesnt look likely.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: The TF536 arrives

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

terriblefire wrote: Thu Jun 13, 2019 11:32 pm If the 030s disappear i'll stop doing 030 boards. It doesnt look likely.
Yeah..maybe it's time to move to 040...
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5423
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF536 arrives

Post by terriblefire »

Nah the 040 is waste of time. 060.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
kludge
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: The TF536 arrives

Post by kludge »

terriblefire wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2019 10:33 am Nah the 040 is waste of time. 060.
I really hope that there’s at least enough supply of 030’s for the 536 to be finished and released. 030 with 64 MB RAM feels like the sweet spot for the 500/2000.
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 4 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ 2 * Amiga 600 ][ A1200 ][ Amiga 2000 w/ A2386 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5423
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF536 arrives

Post by terriblefire »

kludge wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2019 11:40 am
terriblefire wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2019 10:33 am Nah the 040 is waste of time. 060.
I really hope that there’s at least enough supply of 030’s for the 536 to be finished and released. 030 with 64 MB RAM feels like the sweet spot for the 500/2000.
I've generally bought from this guy.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/MC68030RP33B ... SwWkFcx520

The MC68030RP33-B is the one that seems to work for me every time.. if someone has a bad one maybe they can send it and i'll look at why its misbehaving.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: The TF536 arrives

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

@Steve
Ok, i will. This is kinda annoying, cause these CPUs refuse to work on TF's while working nice on Matzes TK accelerators...have no idea why...

@Kludge
No need to worry, some users ask me to ship TF534 without CPU/FPU - they just remove 030 CPU from TF530's. Same will be with TF534 - once TF536 arrives CPUs will be just reused from older boards...
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5423
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF536 arrives

Post by terriblefire »

So what practical use is the 64Mb of RAM. There arent games that need it.. any applications that benefit?
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
kludge
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: The TF536 arrives

Post by kludge »

terriblefire wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:46 pm So what practical use is the 64Mb of RAM. There arent games that need it.. any applications that benefit?
For me it’s just that it’s far enough into the “more than I’ll ever need” amount to make me feel safe :)

(I could probably get by with less...)
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 4 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ 2 * Amiga 600 ][ A1200 ][ Amiga 2000 w/ A2386 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]
Post Reply

Return to “TF536”