TF360 Power Supply Discussion

News & updates for the upcoming 68060 accelerator

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24263
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: TF360 Power Supply Discussion

Post by exxos »

https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF360 Power Supply Discussion

Post by terriblefire »

Looks like a winner. I'll maybe make up a prototype board that sits on the rev 0 mounting for now. I really hope we can get a solution that doesnt require a new PSU...

If so then maybe exxos can start making Amiga PSU's LOL
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24263
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: TF360 Power Supply Discussion

Post by exxos »

terriblefire wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2019 6:28 pm If so then maybe exxos can start making Amiga PSU's LOL
oh joy...
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: TF360 Power Supply Discussion

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

terriblefire wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2019 6:28 pm
I really hope we can get a solution that doesnt require a new PSU...
Stock psu will not work Steve..
You need min. 2A for the 060 CPU + RAM will need 0,5 - 1A, and what about CD32 itself?
Even if You hook it to 12v rail - it's too weak.. Beefed CD32 needs a beefed PSU :roll:
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 586
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: TF360 Power Supply Discussion

Post by supaduper »

Or just get a ATX PSU and buy one of these molex to CD32 adapters from Amigakit
http://amigakit.amiga.store/product_inf ... cts_id=885
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF360 Power Supply Discussion

Post by terriblefire »

supaduper wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2019 8:22 pm Or just get a ATX PSU and buy one of these molex to CD32 adapters from Amigakit
http://amigakit.amiga.store/product_inf ... cts_id=885
I basically have this setup. But i have another CD32 with a stock PSU to test with in the room next door.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: TF360 Power Supply Discussion

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

supaduper wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2019 8:22 pm Or just get a ATX PSU and buy one of these molex to CD32 adapters from Amigakit
http://amigakit.amiga.store/product_inf ... cts_id=885
Mark, the problem is not the PSU itself - some use ATX, indeed

i choosed this one:
https://www.mouser.de/ProductDetail/MEA ... ADcw%3D%3D
and transplanted it into original A500 PSU housing - looks like original, love it..

our problem is to transform 5v into 3.3v needed for 060 CPU & RAM, produce less (or no) heat and give ehough Amps,
so basically we are looking for a solution that comes onto TF360 board instread of LDO1117 - since it's too weak for 060 CPU+RAM
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF360 Power Supply Discussion

Post by terriblefire »

Viktor i dont understand... The SMPSU design will be on the TF360.. its 90%+ efficient. Maybe the 360 will work with the stock PSU maybe not but as Mark says .. .just use an ATX if it doesnt.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: TF360 Power Supply Discussion

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

right, just said that our problem isn't PSU as such,
we are talking about what will be placed on TF360 to convert 5v to 3.3v (with less parts though efficient), and not expensive (since this card isn't of cheapest ones, so need to find good and cheap solution, just like Ti mentioned above)..
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF360 Power Supply Discussion

Post by terriblefire »

Ok. I think the main thing for me is no heat from the regulator in that space with a 060
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
Post Reply

Return to “TF360”