TF360 Discussions

News & updates for the upcoming 68060 accelerator

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5431
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF360 Discussions

Post by terriblefire »

Ah im not tbtorro's friend ... i bough the KEL connectors and cut his margin down considerably.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: TF360 Discussions

Post by exxos »

Thanks. Looking at the chip number , its 2amps. Supprised it powered a 060 board.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5431
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF360 Discussions

Post by terriblefire »

exxos wrote: Fri Aug 16, 2019 7:46 pm Thanks. Looking at the chip number , its 2amps. Supprised it powered a 060 board.
We're not drawing 2Amps.. But that might be due to us being at 66Mhz at the moment.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: TF360 Discussions

Post by exxos »

terriblefire wrote: Fri Aug 16, 2019 7:48 pm
exxos wrote: Fri Aug 16, 2019 7:46 pm Thanks. Looking at the chip number , its 2amps. Supprised it powered a 060 board.
We're not drawing 2Amps.. But that might be due to us being at 66Mhz at the moment.
Have you measured the current then ? It be useful to know once and for all the power requirements of the 060.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5431
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF360 Discussions

Post by terriblefire »

I'm gonna build a cable to do it accurately from my 6632Bs this weekend.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5431
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF360 Discussions

Post by terriblefire »

I am not sure if its this particular power supply or the series but I cannot recommend that unit that supaduper sent me. It occasionally craps out and doesnt start. I'd probably get away with it on a different board but my CPLDs *NEED* 3.3v before the amiga starts sending 5V to the IO pins or it will cause damage.

So dont use those PSUs on my boards. They suck.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
kludge
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: TF360 Discussions

Post by kludge »

We might have to create a capable open source regulator design. Or two.
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 4 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ 2 * Amiga 600 ][ A1200 ][ Amiga 2000 w/ A2386 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5431
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF360 Discussions

Post by terriblefire »

kludge wrote: Sat Aug 17, 2019 2:05 pm We might have to create a capable open source regulator design. Or two.
I'm up for this. I like the form factor of the one supaduper sent me. The only thing i'd change is to make tabs at the sides where i could solder it down onto the board. If its not already 4 layer i'd do that for EMC compliance.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
kludge
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: TF360 Discussions

Post by kludge »

:cheer:
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 4 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ 2 * Amiga 600 ][ A1200 ][ Amiga 2000 w/ A2386 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]
alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 908
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: TF360 Discussions

Post by alenppc »

Just caught the latest stream.

As amazing as AIBB is, it was developed before the 060 was released so it inevitably crashes every time it's run, since it was never patched and nobody knows what happened to the devs or the source code.

Having said that, there is a way to run the test on the 68060: add the CPU=68000 tooltype to the icon. This way all the tests will run in 68000 mode only but it's better than nothing and it will still be more accurate than sysinfo. :)
Post Reply

Return to “TF360”