exxos blog - random goings on

Blogs & guides and tales of woo by forum members.
User avatar
Badwolf
Posts: 2290
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: exxos blog - random goings on

Post by Badwolf »

exxos wrote: Thu Dec 01, 2022 6:27 pm @Badwolf and @Icky Will now be pleased
:girldance:

BW
DFB1 Open source 50MHz 030 and TT-RAM accelerator for the Falcon
DSTB1 Open source 16Mhz 68k and AltRAM accelerator for the ST
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
FrontBench The Frontier: Elite 2 intro as a benchmark
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: exxos blog - random goings on

Post by exxos »

There seems to be some really bizarre bug which I cannot track down now :roll:

When you press "A" to run all tests, it cycles through as normal. Then if you hold down a key such as ESC or Z which are keys not used anywhere in the program anyway. The cycle then terminates. So everything seemingly works fine.

However when you do the "L" for continuous loop, which is basically just a FOR NEXT wrapper for "A" , seems to terminate the cycle but then seems to get stuck in some weird constant refreshing the screen loop. But there is nothing to actually cause that. Any sort of further keypresses or mouse clicks cause the screen to refresh as well. There is nothing in the code that refreshes the screen in that manner.

You can refresh the screen by pressing "R" but clicking on the window does not ordinarily refresh it unless you run the "L" loop.

:dizzy:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: exxos blog - random goings on

Post by exxos »

OK I tell a lie..

Code: Select all

if mess(3)=our_aeshandle then
'we got a AES message to our window 
'INTERSECTION x,y,w,h,x1,y1,w1,h1,x2,y2,w2,h2

'	if mess(0)=wm_redraw then CALL DM:CALL UDSCREEN  
'	if mess(0)=WM_TOPPED then z=wind_set(mess(3), WM_TOP, 0, 0, 0, 0) ' thorsten.otto multitasking refresh fix 
	
end if
Commented out some lines in that routine and now seems to be working a lot better :shrug:

So for some reason the AES goes into meltdown that wants to refresh the window every time something is clicked on :shrug:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4004
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: exxos blog - random goings on

Post by Icky »

Badwolf wrote: Thu Dec 01, 2022 7:16 pm
exxos wrote: Thu Dec 01, 2022 6:27 pm @Badwolf and @Icky Will now be pleased
:girldance:

BW
Whoooo hooooo
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: exxos blog - random goings on

Post by exxos »

Still no further forward but will have to call it a night now :(

It seems like the AES does constantly request something to update but I cannot figure out what. It's like it get stuck in some odd loop. There are even more crazy that if I go into the menu and just toddle the blitter for example, afterwards it all behaves again. Even more odd, if I toggle the blitter from Justin the code itself, it does not have the same effect. So for some odd reason the AES once me to click the menu to fix whatever craziness it thinks it is going on.

Even more odd is that when you ordinarily click on the blitter line to enable it or disable it on the main window, now it is like the boxes clicking zone is higher up than it actually should be. I mean the text and stuff is all fine but when you trying click that object it is not clicking where it is supposed to be clicking. Or putting it simply you have to click the line of text above it (almost) to actually get the blitter line to switch. But all the IDs and numbers are correct. And it is not exactly the object above either. I don't get it :(

EDIT:

OB as in object button 75, hardwired, should be SYS2% :roll:

Code: Select all

if OB=75 then MOUSE 2:call selectObject(SYS2%) : PAUSE(1) : call CHECKBLIT :DeselectObject(SYS2%) : MOUSE 0: CALL UPDATEOBJECT(SYS2%) 
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: exxos blog - random goings on

Post by exxos »

I haven't used MiNT since like 1994 :lol: But installing it in Hatari seems to load but not actually do anything else ?

I'm pretty sure I had this working on my Falcon originally because the whole thing ran so slow I just gave up with it after like day one.

Might have used a alternative desktop back then but I thought TOS itself allowed you to run multiple programs and switch between them ?!

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (27.7 KiB) Viewed 713 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: exxos blog - random goings on

Post by exxos »

Also does anyone know why/how these text items end up underlined ?

They were probably there is of evidence from the original GB4 of keyboard shortcut letters.. But I cannot find anything in the resource file to indicate what is actually generating those on the lines to start with :shrug:


Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (26.89 KiB) Viewed 704 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: exxos blog - random goings on

Post by exxos »

One thing I have not been able to figure out yet is when something in the DESK menu is selected, the menu is drawn into the GB7 window.

If I call a screen redraw fully, it steals the focus and puts GB7 window back on top. Making it impossible to select any other application :roll:

So I'm not really sure how to solve this problem :shrug:

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (29.25 KiB) Viewed 686 times
EDIT:

So I assume the AES report the actual areas that need to be redrawn as opposed to the whole lot.. I need to look into that at some point...

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (24.45 KiB) Viewed 681 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: exxos blog - random goings on

Post by exxos »

I found there is a AES demo seems to take care of this sort of stuff so trying to port it over currently...

Well it cleared the correct block at least :foldarms:

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (21.5 KiB) Viewed 668 times

Now let's see...

IMG_0332.JPG
IMG_0332.JPG (21.44 KiB) Viewed 664 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: exxos blog - random goings on

Post by exxos »

ahhhhhhh

So the clipping is returned in (pardon the variables going on all over the place)

Code: Select all

if mess(0)=wm_redraw then redraw mess(4),mess(5),mess(6),mess(7)

Code: Select all

' set the clipping rectangle and clear it
		vs_clip 1,x2,y2,x2+w2-1,y2+h2-1
		vr_recfl x2,y2,x2+w2-1,y2+h2-1

Then draw the main window , but Because clipping is set, it only draws the clipping zone.

Code: Select all

junk=objc_draw(tree&,0,8,x,y,w,h)
So it may not like it but the menu was drawn over the top and then turned into a white square and then restored correctly :D

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (29.58 KiB) Viewed 693 times

:girldance: :girldance: :girldance:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Post Reply

Return to “MEMBER BLOGS”