ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Related information and WIP etc
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24239
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by exxos »

rubber_jonnie wrote: Wed Mar 11, 2020 2:05 pm @exxos Will there be just a bare board option? I can do the ROMs and other parts myself, so all I'd need is the board and the FPGA if that's feasible.
The ROM wouldn't be supplied anyway.. To many versions of it to include in the kits.. The H4 can hold the ROM in fact anyway. The 68k socket won't be supplied, its not needed for the H4. The PLDs I will program them myself. CF cables / adapters won't be supplied, It only leaves a few resistors and couple other bits then anyway. So its pretty much bare bones anyway.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6069
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by PhilC »

Happy to order a couple myself too, can be bare boards if that helps as I have the ATF programmer as you know.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11029
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by rubber_jonnie »

exxos wrote: Wed Mar 11, 2020 3:24 pm
rubber_jonnie wrote: Wed Mar 11, 2020 2:05 pm @exxos Will there be just a bare board option? I can do the ROMs and other parts myself, so all I'd need is the board and the FPGA if that's feasible.
The ROM wouldn't be supplied anyway.. To many versions of it to include in the kits.. The H4 can hold the ROM in fact anyway. The 68k socket won't be supplied, its not needed for the H4. The PLDs I will program them myself. CF cables / adapters won't be supplied, It only leaves a few resistors and couple other bits then anyway. So its pretty much bare bones anyway.
@exxos Seems fair enough to me.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24239
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by exxos »

Just paid for and downloaded HD11. But unfortunately I get the same results as @rubber_jonnie With the blitter turned on :(

I get 1320 kb/sec with it turned off.

So I have no idea why it turns out slower.

IMG_4955.JPG
IMG_4955.JPG (54 KiB) Viewed 3193 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11029
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by rubber_jonnie »

exxos wrote: Thu Mar 12, 2020 10:51 am Just paid for and downloaded HD11. But unfortunately I get the same results as @rubber_jonnie With the blitter turned on :(
@exxos Hmm, interesting. From a user perspective did it feel any different? Maybe needs an email to Uwe? Would be nice to test it using ACSI, though the config does say it's for IDE as well.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24239
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by exxos »

rubber_jonnie wrote: Thu Mar 12, 2020 10:55 am @exxos Hmm, interesting. From a user perspective did it feel any different? Maybe needs an email to Uwe? Would be nice to test it using ACSI, though the config does say it's for IDE as well.
Good point, Will give it a try, though for some reason it seems to have suddenly decided to go to German and I cannot currently figure out how to get it back to English :roll:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11029
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by rubber_jonnie »

exxos wrote: Thu Mar 12, 2020 10:59 am
Good point, Will give it a try, though for some reason it seems to have suddenly decided to go to German and I cannot currently figure out how to get it back to English :roll:
@exxos If you are using the keyboard rather than a mouse, if you keep ALT held down while starting the config util, it will start in German. Close it down (I think BEENDEN is QUIT)or reset and start again.

Either use a mouse to launch it, or release ALT as soon as you've double clicked using "Insert".
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24239
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by exxos »

@rubber_jonnie Bizarre, I am using the keyboard.. I found the language in the menu, German was selected, I selected English, quit back to desktop and reloaded, and it was still in German. But after a cold reboot it is now back in English.

In any case, loading GB6 takes about three seconds with the blitter turned on, and easily two seconds with the blitter turned off. So the speed results I would say are likely accurate.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11029
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by rubber_jonnie »

exxos wrote: Thu Mar 12, 2020 11:08 am @rubber_jonnie Bizarre, I am using the keyboard.. I found the language in the menu, German was selected, I selected English, quit back to desktop and reloaded, and it was still in German. But after a cold reboot it is now back in English.

In any case, loading GB6 takes about three seconds with the blitter turned on, and easily two seconds with the blitter turned off. So the speed results I would say are likely accurate.
@exxos I may drop UWE a note later then, see what he says. Are you able to test with ACSI? I'd need to do a bit of setup first as my CosmosEx is currently using PPs driver.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24239
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by exxos »

rubber_jonnie wrote: Thu Mar 12, 2020 11:16 am @exxos I may drop UWE a note later then, see what he says. Are you able to test with ACSI? I'd need to do a bit of setup first as my CosmosEx is currently using PPs driver.
I find it best normally not to email him about problems :lol: :roll:

I have an idea what it might be, but something has decided to die meanwhile :roll:

EDIT
and we back to german again :roll:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Post Reply

Return to “H4 MONGREL EDITION DEVELOPMENT & INFO”