ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Related information and WIP etc
User avatar
PaulJ
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by PaulJ »

Thanks Phil. Well that's unusual... worked right off. Booted no problems. Guess its time to go build a 1.04/2.06 rom now.. Sh@t, wish I had some 245's ;) ;) ;) Hopefully they will be here tomorrow.. maybe I'll go have a look in the shed..
IMG_1163_copy.jpg
IMG_1163_copy.jpg (201.39 KiB) Viewed 3312 times
IMG_1162 copy.jpg
IMG_1162 copy.jpg (782.88 KiB) Viewed 3312 times
User avatar
PaulJ
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by PaulJ »

exxos wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2019 6:31 pm
PaulJ wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2019 6:21 pm I assume it matters which half of the rom 2.06 goes in. If so high or low?
It doesn't matter.
Hmm, querious since 1.04 or 2.06 can be in either half of the rom how do you know to change the decode address? :?:
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24081
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by exxos »

PaulJ wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2019 6:51 pm Hmm, querious since 1.04 or 2.06 can be in either half of the rom how do you know to change the decode address? :?:
You don't need to... The first ROM address read is always "zero" and it contains the jump address to wherever ROM is located, whether it be 104 space or 206 space.. The ROM itself sets this address to jump to... Is called the "magic number".. I think there is more to it than that, but I don't remember offhand.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
PaulJ
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by PaulJ »

Ah.. I see, the rom area is multiply decoded. It responds to 0xe00000 and $fc0000 so what ever jump is in 0000-0008 it will find some code there because it will show up at 0xe00000 and $FC0000. Nice..
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6049
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by PhilC »

Just a quick question as hooking mine up now. You mention ACSI 10, I'm going to pick this up from the internal port, so checking this is the HD4 line?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24081
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by exxos »

PhilC wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2019 8:25 pm Just a quick question as hooking mine up now. You mention ACSI 10, I'm going to pick this up from the internal port, so checking this is the HD4 line?
Pin 10 on 19pin port... HDINT which is pin 24 on internal by the looks of it...


1.jpg
1.jpg (63.92 KiB) Viewed 3299 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6049
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by PhilC »

Thats mine booting to desktop now.

I have noticed so far that if I powered up with my 4GB CF card connected it wouldn't boot, not even Diagrom. Just plain grey screen.

Put my 2GB CF card into it and it boots to desktop.

BTW, I was being lazy and tried connecting my UltraSatan at the same time, so that I could format it etc and it doesn't see the UltraSatan.

So I will have to do it the old fashioned way. Can anyone point me to a boot disk with all the files on for the lazy person in me :D
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24081
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by exxos »

I don't know what you mean by boot files ? You have to install HDDRIVER and that can only be done with your own set up..And that is commercial software so we cannot just give you these files..

But I really wouldn't try and configure internal and external drives at the same time, that gave me a headache.. I really wouldn't bother initially.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6049
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by PhilC »

exxos wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2019 9:26 pm I know what you mean by boot files ? You have to install HDDRIVER and that can only be done with your own set up.

But I really wouldn't try and configure internal and external drives at the same time, that gave me a headache.. I really wouldn't bother initially.
Ok, never set an Atari HD up before, hence wanting to cheat but will work it out quick enough :)
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24081
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by exxos »

PhilC wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2019 9:28 pm Ok, never set an Atari HD up before, hence wanting to cheat but will work it out quick enough :)
ah...

Well you need to get HD10 for starters... https://www.hddriver.net/en/prices.html
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Post Reply

Return to “H4 MONGREL EDITION DEVELOPMENT & INFO”