A little bit of 8 Bit: 65XE upgrade to 128k RAM

Any 8bit repairs, images, cool things, upgrades etc.
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10863
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: A little bit of 8 Bit: 65XE upgrade to 128k RAM

Post by rubber_jonnie »

With regards to the sockets, @tzok is correct.

If you look at the sockets, one end has a notch in it, and the silk screen on the Atari has the same notch marked:

Silk screen:

notch.JPG
notch.JPG (14.21 KiB) Viewed 3530 times

Socket:

socket.jpg
socket.jpg (8.95 KiB) Viewed 3530 times

And the orientation is specific, as the notch shows where the notch of the IC goes, or pin 1 (in yellow) if there is no notch in the IC, as some just have a dimple to show where pin 1 is.

It's important to line these up correctly in order to make sure your chips are plugged in correctly and don't get killed when you switch on. It is important to understand these things to make sure you don't make any mistakes when plugging chips in. It's all there to help you.

Also, it shows a level of diligence that you have understood the reasons why it should be that way round, and taken the time and effort to make sure it all looks right.

In your case at least 2 of the sockets don't have the socket notch lined up with the silkscreen notch.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
Trollbra
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2020 9:31 pm

Re: A little bit of 8 Bit: 65XE upgrade to 128k RAM

Post by Trollbra »

That's right, I've always been careful to put the RAM chips in the right way !
Trollbra
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2020 9:31 pm

Re: A little bit of 8 Bit: 65XE upgrade to 128k RAM

Post by Trollbra »

Why do you think SIO Drive Max load fail (boot error) ?
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10863
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: A little bit of 8 Bit: 65XE upgrade to 128k RAM

Post by rubber_jonnie »

I always let the SIO Max boot from the internal ATR that brings up the on screen menu, never fails that way. If you choose from the touch screen, it'll forget which ATR you chose if you power off and cause a boot error.

I think you need to use external power to remember the last ATR loaded when you power off the Atari.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
Trollbra
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2020 9:31 pm

Re: A little bit of 8 Bit: 65XE upgrade to 128k RAM

Post by Trollbra »

But SIO Drive Max doesn't work only with this motherboard !?
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10863
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: A little bit of 8 Bit: 65XE upgrade to 128k RAM

Post by rubber_jonnie »

Trollbra wrote: Wed Dec 30, 2020 4:47 pm But SIO Drive Max doesn't work only with this motherboard !?
If it's just with this machine then you may have a problem with your Pokey.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
Post Reply

Return to “8 BIT CORNER”