TF330 Soft Reboot Issue (SOLVED)

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF330 Soft Reboot Issue

Post by terriblefire »

OK i have further tracked down this one..

If you watch the 020 during reboot...
020_reset_20ns.JPG
020_reset_20ns.JPG (64.31 KiB) Viewed 5127 times
vs the 030 at the same code..
030_reset.JPG
030_reset.JPG (63.08 KiB) Viewed 5127 times
Basically something is pulling the reset line up.

I guess a new revision of board would fix this by "breaking" the reset lines but i'll stick the analog scope on it and see whats going on next.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF330 Soft Reboot Issue

Post by terriblefire »

Found the issue..



CD32 has a reset in and reset out. Bugger.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF330 Soft Reboot Issue

Post by terriblefire »

OK here is the mod to fix... i tested it.
IMG_0006.JPG
IMG_0006.JPG (253.73 KiB) Viewed 5111 times
tf330_patch_1.JPG
tf330_patch_1.JPG (181.82 KiB) Viewed 5111 times
IMG_0008.JPG
IMG_0008.JPG (345.74 KiB) Viewed 5111 times
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF330 Soft Reboot Issue

Post by terriblefire »

And the fix works..

———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 586
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: TF330 Soft Reboot Issue

Post by supaduper »

Fix done , Fix confirmed working with patch and tested with OS that requires to reboot and to insert modules,

Just a tip to people doing the patch, put the patch wire as close to the edge as you can otherwise the connector will push it off or worse take some of the pad with it ! , I use Kapton tape to stop the solder flowing all down the pad as this too can cause problems also

And I will glue the wire down :)

thanks for the fix Steve and your hard work
Attachments
TF330 patched.JPG
TF330 patched.JPG (179.52 KiB) Viewed 5103 times
User avatar
GadgetUK164
Posts: 430
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:26 pm

Re: TF330 Soft Reboot Issue

Post by GadgetUK164 »

Great job working out the issue! And the fix is nice and easy so not the end of the world at all =D Always amazed at how quickly you design (and fix) these boards. Incredible ;)
My YouTube Channel - www.youtube.com/GadgetUK164
go0se
Posts: 405
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: TF330 Soft Reboot Issue

Post by go0se »

If the order can't be amended and the 50 Rev2 boards do end up arriving from China, put me down for 4 anyhow to recoup some of your £ outlay..

I enjoy a good Kynar patch wire project, gives the board that authentic 80's look! :)
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: TF330 Soft Reboot Issue

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

Excellent work!!! :thanksyellow: :thanksblue:
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
User avatar
GadgetUK164
Posts: 430
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:26 pm

Re: TF330 Soft Reboot Issue

Post by GadgetUK164 »

go0se wrote: Sun Feb 03, 2019 5:51 pm If the order can't be amended and the 50 Rev2 boards do end up arriving from China, put me down for 4 anyhow to recoup some of your £ outlay..

I enjoy a good Kynar patch wire project, gives the board that authentic 80's look! :)
Likewise! I don't mind building 4 of these and doing the mod to them.
My YouTube Channel - www.youtube.com/GadgetUK164
alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 908
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: TF330 Soft Reboot Issue

Post by alenppc »

I confirm the fix is working. Cutting the trace is a bit tricky, you need a very sharp knife but it works.
Post Reply

Return to “TF330”