STe booster v 1.5 36Mhz

Problems with your machine in general.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STe booster v 1.5 36Mhz

Post by exxos »

Also looks like you have parity ram in there as its 3 chip. You need to remove those parity chips as I've already documented stability issues with boosters and parity ram.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
nemox
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:37 pm

Re: STe booster v 1.5 36Mhz

Post by nemox »

Hi
Capacitor is diferent but he has +5 V, resistor is this: https://www.gme.cz/rra-8x10k-2#
each resistor has one common line on +5V and other side resistors is connected to data bus.
Ok i try other RAM
Thanks
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STe booster v 1.5 36Mhz

Post by exxos »

I also assume you didn't enable the "turbo mode" of the booster ?
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STe booster v 1.5 36Mhz

Post by exxos »

Try this program also with first test...

https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/forum/viewt ... ?f=25&t=43
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
nemox
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:37 pm

Re: STe booster v 1.5 36Mhz

Post by nemox »

No i did't enable the "turbo mod" of the booster
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STe booster v 1.5 36Mhz

Post by exxos »

nemox wrote: Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:03 pm No i did't enable the "turbo mod" of the booster
OK. Can you try the program I posted earlier ? Lets make sure the hard drive side of things is stable first.

Also how do you tell corruption happens ? If you look at the notes in that software thread, I mention creating folders and saving desktop is normally enough to trigger the "classic" DMA faults. So we need to make sure your DMA and hard drive is actually stable with that software.

The booster itself shouldn't affect the hard drive. In fact it even runs at 8MHz during DMA transfers, so there should never be any issues. In fact the booster has basically nothing to do with the hard drive circuit. So something is unstable somewhere on your machine which is being aggravated by the booster running at higher speeds. The main issue I found was parity RAM. But there could be other issues, such as bad PSU or something else.

I have documented the boards with integrated blitter are more problematical than the separate blitter machines. So you could also try turning off the blitter in the gem desktop menu, then format your SD card, then go back to desktop (make sure blitter is still off) and create some folders. Then see if the corruption happens with blitter off.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
nemox
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:37 pm

Re: STe booster v 1.5 36Mhz

Post by nemox »

so, test software at 8 Mhz OK, how to switch to acceleration, as well as errors.

I used original simm with 8xDIP chip (2x 256KB) and still the same, yet another test PSU

blitter chip without effect

do you another some idea


and one more question
I have 520STm with install ATBUS TOS CARD from HARD&SOFT(this is IDE card with TOS 2.06) and questions is how to create the CE pin for the booster 16Mhz V1.5

thanks
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STe booster v 1.5 36Mhz

Post by exxos »

Disconnect the CE wire to the TOS board and try again see if that helps...

Also open up a new topic if your asking about other boosters as it will get to confusing else..
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
nemox
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:37 pm

Re: STe booster v 1.5 36Mhz

Post by nemox »

I replacing a PSU, and if it does not help, some idea??
...replace DMA chip?? or something..
thanks
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STe booster v 1.5 36Mhz

Post by exxos »

Have you tried what I said above ?
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE ISSUES”