PAK issues

Problems with your machine in general.
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 1003
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by Darklord »

Ah, gotcha. Best of luck, hope you get it going soon.
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6072
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by PhilC »

My Pak has arrived back from Germany today, where Pakman has very kindly fixed it for me.

So I just wanted to publically thank Pakman for his help in getting my Pak up and running, thank you kind Sir.

I've done a quick Gembench test with it, which I will post later but also had to do the obligatory Frontier demo test, which looks super smooth (as far as an Atari goes.)

Over the next few weeks I'll try and put together a collection of the Pak files, similar to what RJ did with the 020 version.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6072
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by PhilC »

And here's the Gembench results, running at 32Mhz.
20190507_163711.jpg
20190507_163711.jpg (355.98 KiB) Viewed 4727 times
And compared to a standard 8mhz ST, no blitter, etc,
Attachments
20190507_164234.jpg
20190507_164234.jpg (384.8 KiB) Viewed 4725 times
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 1003
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by Darklord »

Congratulations!

Now add an FPU 'n stuff ! :)

PS Compare it to a Mega STe, Falcon and TT - you won't be disappointed.
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6072
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by PhilC »

So tonight I thought I'd remove the 32mhz oscillator that was working nicely with the Pak and thought what the hell and put one of my 40mhz ones in.

I wasnt sure if it would even boot as the 68882 is only badged up as a 25mhz chip but so far its ran Gembench a few times without problem.

Here's a benchmark at 40mhz to compare with the previous one at 32mhz. Not a bad increase. :D
20190606_200138.jpg
20190606_200138.jpg (360.68 KiB) Viewed 4610 times
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24265
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: PAK issues

Post by exxos »

:bravo: :coolpics:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4014
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: PAK issues

Post by Icky »

Glad to see you have it working now. Great GB6 results.

I second Darklord's suggestion to the see benchmarks against a TT and Falcon.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6072
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by PhilC »

Icky wrote: Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:16 pm Glad to see you have it working now. Great GB6 results.

I second Darklord's suggestion to the see benchmarks against a TT and Falcon.
Will post them tomorrow. The TT and Falcon are faster for blitter and Ram but I think that's it.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 1003
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by Darklord »

Done this in the past - that's why I wanted you to see it for yourself.

A Pak equipped ST whips a TT or Falcon... :)

PS Well, if you're running the 40/50 freqs, that is.
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
frank.lukas
Posts: 683
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:52 am

Re: PAK issues

Post by frank.lukas »

My PAK68/3-030/50Mhz

MACH32 with Panther/2 Adapter and NVDI only as GDOS.
gb6pak030.gif
gb6pak030.gif (175.05 KiB) Viewed 4577 times
Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE ISSUES”