PAK issues

Problems with your machine in general.
pakman
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:04 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by pakman »

Sorry, I was wrong..
Please check U6 14 to pin 52.
(Should be 0 Ohm as well)
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6072
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by PhilC »

Thats correct
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
pakman
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:04 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by pakman »

Do you have a spare GAL available?
Use that to swap it with U6 which is currently in use.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6072
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by PhilC »

pakman wrote: Tue Feb 19, 2019 8:35 pm Do you have a spare GAL available?
Use that to swap it with U6 which is currently in use.
I have some on order but not arrived yet. I do have some ATF22V10 but they don't seem to be 100% compatible.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
pakman
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:04 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by pakman »

Hm.. l will see..
Meanwhile let's try a hack: Insert GAL U6 in a way that pin17 goes outside the socket (no connection between pin17 and the PAK). Try to boot, and run GemBench with D&I cache on..
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6072
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by PhilC »

Here's the gembench screenshot, looks like no change from the previous with fpu on.
20190219_210352.jpg
20190219_210352.jpg (441.74 KiB) Viewed 5030 times
Will see if I can find another Gal in the morning.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
pakman
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:04 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by pakman »

PM
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6072
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by PhilC »

Ok, so I'm being thick here.

Pakman and I have been working through why my Pak is slower for ram access. I now need to burn a 32bit version of tos 2.06 to 4 x 27c010s. I have tos split from the version that I use in the other Pak but when I boot nothing happens.

Firstly tos 2.06 fits fine in 4 27c512 chips, so the 27c010 is obviously too big and I suspect its where I'm writing this to on the eprom that's the problem.

Also I don't know whether U8 - U11 on the 020 go in the same order on the 030 ie 8=10, 9=11 and so on.

Any suggestions guys?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 1003
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by Darklord »

Hmm, either I forgot or I missed it - why aren't you using the special TOS v3.06
version for the Pak board? It's 32 bit from the get-go.

Just curious. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6072
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: PAK issues

Post by PhilC »

Pakman wanted me to try 2.06 in it because of a slow memory problem.

I'm sending the board to him to try and diagnose the fault.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE ISSUES”