kludge’s TF530 build

TF530 - 63030 + RAM Board

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5433
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: kludge’s TF530 build

Post by terriblefire »

kludge wrote: Sun Mar 10, 2019 4:25 pm
terriblefire wrote: Sun Mar 10, 2019 3:17 pm No its massively more than this. I basically spent a month doing what your doing to the clock lines and got nowhere. I completely redesigned the topology of the clock. I no longer sell the TF530 because of this.
Sorry, it wasn’t my intention to downplay the work you put into it. I’ll probably spend two months on and off and then throw it in the trash.
Its fine. What i'm trying to convey is that I had the same experience with one board you did... and gave up and redesigned. Its why i really discourage people from building the TF530s now.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
PaulJ
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: kludge’s TF530 build

Post by PaulJ »

Paypal is getting to be a pain in the a@#. This time they ask for your name and country.. Had to pick from a list but UK wasn't listed so I choose GB. Exxos tried to explain your political and geographical topography but it leaves me confused. I guess the closest thing I could equate it to is New England made of 6 or seven states but its only a term here to describe a geografic area.. :headbang: :headbang: :headbang:
User avatar
PaulJ
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: kludge’s TF530 build

Post by PaulJ »

Now that I've :threadjacked: Kludges topic a parting thought... I found out why the "English" drive on the wrong side of the road. Back in the day when horses were the common mode of transpertation most nights were right handed so in order to joust effectiently they needed to "drive" on the left side of the horse path. So when car's and roads came into being they keep everything the same!! :shrug: :shrug: :shrug:
User avatar
kludge
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: kludge’s TF530 build

Post by kludge »

terriblefire wrote: Sun Mar 10, 2019 4:27 pm Its why i really discourage people from building the TF530s now.
My plan was to wait for the TF534, but then I got a TF530 kit as a gift and couldn’t resist trying :)
PaulJ wrote: Sun Mar 10, 2019 4:44 pm Now that I've :threadjacked: Kludges topic a parting thought...
No worries. Threadjack all you want. In Sweden we switched from driving on the left to rightly driving on the right in 1967. :)
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 4 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ 2 * Amiga 600 ][ A1200 ][ Amiga 2000 w/ A2386 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]
Jings
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:53 pm

Re: kludge’s TF530 build

Post by Jings »

terriblefire wrote: Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:32 am I’ve had several Tf530s not work until the FPU is inserted. It damps the clock line.
:shock: :shock: :shock:
...and there I finally got my TF530 to work! It was extremely unstable, especially if I used the IDE-interface, or used a relocator. Tried everything, checked all soldering, even added pullups, as they were missing from the mainboard. Didn't have the correct socket available when I soldered stuff together the first time, and didn’t bother to add it later :cry:
Soldered in a socket, and slotted in a FPU, and everything appears to work smoothly... :D

At least I got it to work before I replaced it with a TF534... :lol:

Thanks for designing this, great to rediscover Amiga & soldering after all these years!
User avatar
kludge
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: kludge’s TF530 build

Post by kludge »

F*cking hell. Got the new oscillator yesterday and soldered in in.

...and they had sent me a 8MHz/5V oscillator in a 25MHz/3V3 bag. And i accidentally damaged a trace while removing the 8MHz oscillator.
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 4 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ 2 * Amiga 600 ][ A1200 ][ Amiga 2000 w/ A2386 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]
User avatar
kludge
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: kludge’s TF530 build

Post by kludge »

Is the solder mask on the DirtyPCB boards usually bad? It flakes off much easier than the ones I’ve ordered from JLCPCB.
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 4 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ 2 * Amiga 600 ][ A1200 ][ Amiga 2000 w/ A2386 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5433
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: kludge’s TF530 build

Post by terriblefire »

kludge wrote: Thu Mar 14, 2019 10:22 am Is the solder mask on the DirtyPCB boards usually bad? It flakes off much easier than the ones I’ve ordered from JLCPCB.
I've stopped using DirtyPCBs completely. They've become garbage lately and their stuff goes missing in the mail.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
kludge
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: kludge’s TF530 build

Post by kludge »

terriblefire wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2019 9:09 am
kludge wrote: Thu Mar 14, 2019 10:22 am Is the solder mask on the DirtyPCB boards usually bad? It flakes off much easier than the ones I’ve ordered from JLCPCB.
I've stopped using DirtyPCBs completely. They've become garbage lately and their stuff goes missing in the mail.
I can understand that if the quality of this board is any indication. I’ve been very happy with the quality from JLCPCB, including the TF534 PCBs I bought from you
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 4 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ 2 * Amiga 600 ][ A1200 ][ Amiga 2000 w/ A2386 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]
Post Reply

Return to “TF530”