Latest TF534 is here

TF534 - 68030 + More RAM Board (More compatible with amiga hardware)

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

go0se
Posts: 405
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: Latest TF534 is here

Post by go0se »

Excellent! Cheers.
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: Latest TF534 is here

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

just want to add one important detail Steve forgot to mention - TF534 card doesn't need INT2 and OVR interrupt signals anymore,
so this card is Plug'n'Play
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5433
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Latest TF534 is here

Post by terriblefire »

8 Bit Dreams wrote: Sat Jan 19, 2019 5:01 pm just want to add one important detail Steve forgot to mention - TF534 card doesn't need INT2 and OVR interrupt signals anymore,
so this card is Plug'n'Play
Indeed thanks for mentioning that. Thats always my goal... make it as easy to use as possible.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5433
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Latest TF534 is here

Post by terriblefire »

Few more points to mention...

The TF534 IDE interface is working with EmuTOS IDE out of the box. No drivers etc needed.. Just works. Therefore this is the "TOS" I recommend.

I'm open to suggestions where the fastram should live on an ST. If a patched TOS3.06 were used it would be nice if the ram were located somewhere that it could take advantage of this optimally.

The latest board has an extra pull up that should help Floppy compatibility.

It may be possible to get ROMs running slowly out of the Serial EEPROM.. By slowly i mean probably ~500ns per access. This was my intention for ROMs rather than having an external board. Having a £2 SOIC8 chip on the board that has ROMs would be perfect in terms of space and cost.

I would really like to port "CPU FASTROM" to the Atari ST at some point. The biggest issue i see with this is that the jump vector at address 0 would need to be patched too. If this worked the ROM could be moved to fastram and MMU mapped. The results on the Amiga are spectacular.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
redhawk668
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 3:03 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Latest TF534 is here

Post by redhawk668 »

Awesome! As soon as they are available, I will get one and the needed parts and solder it up.
My collection: 1040 STE, TOS 2.06, 4 mb, CosmosEx - 520 STFM, TOS 1.04, 4 mb, Blitter, CosmosEx - 520 STFM, TOS 1.04, 4 mb - 1040 STF, TOS 1.04, 1 mb, Gotek - Amiga 1200 with Blizzard 1220/4 - Amiga 500 + ACA500 - Amiga 500 + TF530, 1 mb chipram hack.

Atari 8 bit: 800XLF, stock - 600XL, Ultimate 1 mb, Sophia RGB - 130XE, 320 kb, Sophia RGB

Sinclair stuff: 3x Spectrum 48KB, Clones: Harlequin, JS128, Nuvo128 and Issue3B replica.

Ultimate64, a few C64 breadbins and Pi1541 for storage.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5433
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Latest TF534 is here

Post by terriblefire »

I finished building tonight except for the 68000 socket.. I plan to bring up the badger tomorrow night.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
MarkFixesStuff
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:06 pm

Re: Latest TF534 is here

Post by MarkFixesStuff »

It's... so... beautiful!

:yay:
It's me. Mark from Mark Fixes Stuff on the YouTube thingymajig.

https://www.youtube.com/markfixesstuff - I know... It's patently obvious I don't have a clue! :P
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5433
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Latest TF534 is here

Post by terriblefire »

Ok. Doesn’t appear to work. Not even DiagROM. Will investigate a bit but TBH I may scrap the TF534 at this point.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
kludge
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Latest TF534 is here

Post by kludge »

terriblefire wrote: Wed Jan 23, 2019 8:01 am Ok. Doesn’t appear to work. Not even DiagROM. Will investigate a bit but TBH I may scrap the TF534 at this point.
Crap. That’s unfortunate. Any ideas on what went wrong?
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 4 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ 2 * Amiga 600 ][ A1200 ][ Amiga 2000 w/ A2386 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5433
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Latest TF534 is here

Post by terriblefire »

Not sure. Doesn’t manage to read the first 4 words in rom correctly. So might be a solder issue
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
Post Reply

Return to “TF534 (OBSOLETE)”