My CDTV Nightmare

TF534 - 68030 + More RAM Board (More compatible with amiga hardware)

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: My CDTV Nightmare

Post by terriblefire »

I burned these two guys on to ROMS...

http://web.archive.org/web/200710200854 ... d_v2_3.BIN
http://web.archive.org/web/200710200855 ... n_v2_3.BIN

And booted the badger with the original 68K in. I got an "insert floppy" logo.. Kickstart 1.3 (same deal with Kick 3.1)

I verified the ROMs did burn by reading them back and md5suming them..
rom.JPG
rom.JPG (102.06 KiB) Viewed 4654 times
V. Odd.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: My CDTV Nightmare

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

This means extended roms are not detected
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: My CDTV Nightmare

Post by terriblefire »

This is a bit perplexing.. I can see the ROMs are there with DiagROM. :/
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: My CDTV Nightmare

Post by terriblefire »

Is there a tool to dump the extended roms from workbench?
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
utri007
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:20 pm

Re: My CDTV Nightmare

Post by utri007 »

http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/RipROM

I haven't tested it, but it is still supported by airsoft.

http://www.airsoftsoftwair.com/
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: My CDTV Nightmare

Post by terriblefire »

Thanks. That worked.

Its let me diagnose that the ROMs only wrote to the half way point. :/

https://www.dropbox.com/s/2ti6211sq5g2nby/cdtv.rip?dl=0

after 0xF20000 the rom is garbage from the system view. I'll pull the rom back out and test it with the programmer tomorrow

Do i just have incompatible ROMS? These are Hitachi MX27C512-12s
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: My CDTV Nightmare

Post by terriblefire »

Ok its simple.. ROMs are the wrong size. Oooops.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: My CDTV Nightmare

Post by terriblefire »

This is parked for a bit. I need ROMs, a keyboard and mouse.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6072
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: My CDTV Nightmare

Post by PhilC »

terriblefire wrote: Fri Feb 22, 2019 1:36 pm This is parked for a bit. I need ROMs, a keyboard and mouse.
I might be wrong but I sort of remember the CDTV keyboard being just a black version of the 2000,3000,4000 keyboard.

Didnt you get an A3000 recently?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: My CDTV Nightmare

Post by terriblefire »

Forgottenmyname wrote: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:13 pm I might be wrong but I sort of remember the CDTV keyboard being just a black version of the 2000,3000,4000 keyboard.

Didnt you get an A3000 recently?
Different connector.. CDTV Keyboards are v rate. £150+ for a keyboard.

I dont have an A3000 keyboard either.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
Post Reply

Return to “TF534 (OBSOLETE)”