My CDTV Nightmare

TF534 - 68030 + More RAM Board (More compatible with amiga hardware)

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF534 on CDTV

Post by terriblefire »

Nope it just tries to boot and crashes.

It does the same with the same ROMs in WinUAE. So i need to wait til the 27C1001s i ordered appear.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: TF534 on CDTV

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

terriblefire wrote: Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:15 pm
It does the same with the same ROMs in WinUAE. So i need to wait til the 27C1001s i ordered appear.
just be sure You'll get chips with Pin 2=!OE/!G, Pin 24=A16... Others will not work without an adapter
as much i know this pinout is by Macronix MX27C1001 only, other company's are selling these as 27C1000
have also ordered 10x of them a while ago, these should arrive soon..
please let me know, if You need some
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF534 on CDTV

Post by terriblefire »

I got the Hitachi Chips. HG27C1001. Those are compatible from what i can tell.

EDIT: i meant HN27C301AG

https://4donline.ihs.com/images/VipMast ... 43A3159BB0
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: TF534 on CDTV

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

Yes, 27C301 are good, i just worried about speed - chips i saw was 200ns, i got issues with kickstart rom when i tried to use 150ns, so i think we need something in 120ns range... :?
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF534 on CDTV

Post by terriblefire »

8 Bit Dreams wrote: Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:41 am Yes, 27C301 are good, i just worried about speed - chips i saw was 200ns, i got issues with kickstart rom when i tried to use 150ns, so i think we need something in 120ns range... :?
WIll need to see what turns up. There are AG-12s which should be fine.

EDIT: Someone just make a romboard already. CDTV feels like working on an antique car.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF534 on CDTV

Post by terriblefire »

The flexiwire kit has arrived. It’s in the queue
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF534 on CDTV

Post by terriblefire »

OK this guys is getting some attention today.

First to fix the flexi cables.. then some ROMs need burnt.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: TF534 on CDTV

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

terriblefire wrote: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:32 pm OK this guys is getting some attention today.

First to fix the flexi cables.. then some ROMs need burnt.
be careful if You use TL866, it doesn't support 27C1000 directly
it doesn't report errors, so You'll get impression it's burnt correctly, but it's not!
2 & 24 need to be swapped, and burnt as 27C1001
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6069
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: TF534 on CDTV

Post by PhilC »

8 Bit Dreams wrote: Sun Jan 27, 2019 1:22 pm be careful if You use TL866, it doesn't support 27C1000 directly
it doesn't report errors, so You'll get impression it's burnt correctly, but it's not!
2 & 24 need to be swapped, and burnt as 27C1001
Top tip, that explains the adaptors sold on eBay then?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF534 on CDTV

Post by terriblefire »

8 Bit Dreams wrote: Sun Jan 27, 2019 1:22 pm
terriblefire wrote: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:32 pm OK this guys is getting some attention today.

First to fix the flexi cables.. then some ROMs need burnt.
be careful if You use TL866, it doesn't support 27C1000 directly
it doesn't report errors, so You'll get impression it's burnt correctly, but it's not!
2 & 24 need to be swapped, and burnt as 27C1001
I have the MX27C512s... they seem to be supported by the 866II
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
Post Reply

Return to “TF534 (OBSOLETE)”