A600 CPU adapter (PLCC to DIP64)

TF530 - 63030 + RAM Board

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

User avatar
kludge
Posts: 399
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Compatibility issues with TF530/TF534 and A600?

Post by kludge »

Screenshot 2019-03-22 at 16.16.39.png
Screenshot 2019-03-22 at 16.16.39.png (402.27 KiB) Viewed 5112 times
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 8 * A500 ][ 2 * A500+ ][ 2 * A600 ][ 2 * A1200 ][ 2 * A2000 w/ A2386 ][ A4000 w/ TF4060, CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ 3 * Mac Classics of different types ]
Maximilian
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 5:02 pm

Re: Compatibility issues with TF530/TF534 and A600?

Post by Maximilian »

Nice, "Resistance is futile" :D
User avatar
kludge
Posts: 399
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Compatibility issues with TF530/TF534 and A600?

Post by kludge »

Maximilian wrote: Fri Mar 22, 2019 3:36 pm Nice, "Resistance is futile" :D
:D
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 8 * A500 ][ 2 * A500+ ][ 2 * A600 ][ 2 * A1200 ][ 2 * A2000 w/ A2386 ][ A4000 w/ TF4060, CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ 3 * Mac Classics of different types ]
User avatar
kludge
Posts: 399
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Compatibility issues with TF530/TF534 and A600?

Post by kludge »

So... Extra kudos to:

Terriblefire for suggesting not using any logic for the bus arbitration.

Edu Arana for the even simpler approach as well as the resistor values.

Maximillian for noticing the VPA issue.
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 8 * A500 ][ 2 * A500+ ][ 2 * A600 ][ 2 * A1200 ][ 2 * A2000 w/ A2386 ][ A4000 w/ TF4060, CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ 3 * Mac Classics of different types ]
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: Compatibility issues with TF530/TF534 and A600?

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

Wow! Excellent!
can i get one of the adapters please,
haven't TF530, but i do have TF534's here! :)
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
User avatar
kludge
Posts: 399
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Compatibility issues with TF530/TF534 and A600?

Post by kludge »

terriblefire wrote:
Could you rename this thread to something like "A600 CPU adapter (PLCC to DIP64)" or something else that's a bit more in line of what the thread has become? :)
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 8 * A500 ][ 2 * A500+ ][ 2 * A600 ][ 2 * A1200 ][ 2 * A2000 w/ A2386 ][ A4000 w/ TF4060, CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ 3 * Mac Classics of different types ]
Maximilian
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 5:02 pm

Re: Compatibility issues with TF530/TF534 and A600?

Post by Maximilian »

Maximilian wrote: Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:26 am There are turbo boards for the a600, but they probably use a small processor for this.
So I would not go and change your motherboard, otherwise you could just remove the plcc 68k and be done with it.
What i wanted to say is(theory):
If you pull down PLCC68 _BR with some logic until the reset line goes high(inactive), the processor is disabled, if you then let go of _BR(high impedance) the system will probably boot without problems without cutting any tracks.
Of course this has to happen at each reset.
Maybe something like http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/sn74auc1g125.pdf will be enough, if you take this a little further you could probably switch between the two processors.
Wrong or right?

Maybe this can be handled in the clpd of the next TF card?, then you can switch between 68k and 6830 :-)

About the height issue, just make 2 cards with an interconnect to change the height .
User avatar
kludge
Posts: 399
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Compatibility issues with TF530/TF534 and A600?

Post by kludge »

Maximilian wrote: Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:06 pm What i wanted to say is(theory):
If you pull down PLCC68 _BR with some logic until the reset line goes high(inactive), the processor is disabled, if you then let go of _BR(high impedance) the system will probably boot without problems without cutting any tracks.
Of course this has to happen at each reset.
Maybe something like http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/sn74auc1g125.pdf will be enough, if you take this a little further you could probably switch between the two processors.
Wrong or right?

Maybe this can be handled in the clpd of the next TF card?, then you can switch between 68k and 6830 :-)
Something like that should be possible, but I don't think I will add any such features to the adapter any time soon. The TF330 has a disable jumper, so I suppose Stephen could add that to a future card as well.
Maximilian wrote: Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:06 pm About the height issue, just make 2 cards with an interconnect to change the height .
Not height, rather depth. The TF53x comes too close to the back wall of the A600 case. I will try to tighten up the layout when I redo the board.
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 8 * A500 ][ 2 * A500+ ][ 2 * A600 ][ 2 * A1200 ][ 2 * A2000 w/ A2386 ][ A4000 w/ TF4060, CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ 3 * Mac Classics of different types ]
arananet
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:00 pm

Re: A600 CPU adapter (PLCC to DIP64)

Post by arananet »

Congrats buddy! :cheers:
User avatar
kludge
Posts: 399
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: A600 CPU adapter (PLCC to DIP64)

Post by kludge »

It runs the tests in DiagROM happily, at least. And boots Workbench.
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 8 * A500 ][ 2 * A500+ ][ 2 * A600 ][ 2 * A1200 ][ 2 * A2000 w/ A2386 ][ A4000 w/ TF4060, CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ 3 * Mac Classics of different types ]
Post Reply

Return to “TF530”