16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
User avatar
rpineau
Posts: 534
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by rpineau »

Somehow the layer got swapped.
We need to put the top on the bottom and bottom on the top.
No idea how this happened.
I'm fixing the lib but that's why it's not working and we're lucky we did short GND and VCC
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24081
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by exxos »

rpineau wrote: Wed Apr 04, 2018 11:12 pm Somehow the layer got swapped.
We need to put the top on the bottom and bottom on the top.
yes..
rpineau wrote: Wed Apr 04, 2018 11:12 pm No idea how this happened.
I know I had some confusion over this a while ago and you did edit the lib, but I put back to older version as I think after your edit, the 2 gnd wires were at the top, so it was "upside down".. but I never checked the layer orders.. I assume was OK as it worked with the RTC boards... The order of signals is correct as I checked that a lot.. but I never thought to check top and bottom layer order :(
rpineau wrote: Wed Apr 04, 2018 11:12 pm I'm fixing the lib but that's why it's not working and we're lucky we did short GND and VCC
Didn't I assume ? :) Yeah, well, I am using my own PSU, I shorted VCC & GND lots of times over the past year ;)
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
rpineau
Posts: 534
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by rpineau »

Ok, I fixed the lib , odd pin on top, even pin on bottom. I'm checking to make sure the pins are correct and will send you the new version.. and I guess I owe you now ;)
Rodolphe
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24081
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by exxos »

rpineau wrote: Wed Apr 04, 2018 11:24 pm Ok, I fixed the lib , odd pin on top, even pin on bottom. I'm checking to make sure the pins are correct and will send you the new version..
:) Sleep time for me soon , so will look tomorrow :)
rpineau wrote: Wed Apr 04, 2018 11:24 pm and I guess I owe you now ;)
Nope :) My bad for not checking the layer order.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24081
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by exxos »

So updated lib used now.. I used the current design and flipped the layout order so I don't have to re-route the design.. have a few things to fix.. but now GND is twice on bottom layer (38 & 40) So should be good now :)

2A.JPG
2A.JPG (162.74 KiB) Viewed 5077 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24081
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by exxos »

Totally forget about this project, will see if I can work out where I got up to with it all...

Looks like design was basically finished, edge connectors seems right direction now.. fixed some issues with the DRC..

So now 3 prototypes on order..

c4.jpg
c4.jpg (38.15 KiB) Viewed 5411 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Atarian Computing
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:27 am

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by Atarian Computing »

How have I completely missed this thread? I made this in the beginning of May:
MultiCart.png
MultiCart.png (515.21 KiB) Viewed 5402 times
MultiCartback.png
MultiCartback.png (528.26 KiB) Viewed 5402 times
Sketch (32).png
Sketch (32).png (363.99 KiB) Viewed 5402 times
Based on Arne's Test Cart. It's functionally fully ready but cosmetically not yet and on hold. Haven't produced any. I use KiCad 5.
Atarian Computing
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:27 am

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by Atarian Computing »

Here are my schematics:
Sketch (33).png
Sketch (33).png (486.25 KiB) Viewed 5398 times
MultiCart.pdf
(83.38 KiB) Downloaded 202 times
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24081
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by exxos »

Atarian Computing wrote: Fri Jul 06, 2018 6:45 pm How have I completely missed this thread? I made this in the beginning of May:
:shrug: Thread has been on & off for about a year anyway. Its never been very high up on my to do list.
Atarian Computing wrote: Fri Jul 06, 2018 6:45 pm Based on Arne's Test Cart. It's functionally fully ready but cosmetically not yet and on hold. Haven't produced any. I use KiCad 5.
Basically the same really then. Though I went with diodes for OE rather than a IC. Was some talks about it all *somewhere* in this thread. I went with PLCC as was using them in other things, so made sense to save buying yet another part. Plus a bit smaller as well :)

EDIT:
Actually I am using UDS, LDS, but you are just using the ROM lines there. I wonder if there is any need to even use UDS, LDS at all, as ROM4 will be valid on the ROM range anyway..Will have to try it when I get my boards. Though assume its working if someones been producing them like that anyway.
1.jpg
1.jpg (11.46 KiB) Viewed 5391 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Atarian Computing
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:27 am

Re: 16BIT ROM CART THOUGHTS

Post by Atarian Computing »

exxos wrote: Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:06 pm Actually I am using UDS, LDS, but you are just using the ROM lines there. I wonder if there is any need to even use UDS, LDS at all, as ROM4 will be valid on the ROM range anyway..Will have to try it when I get my boards. Though assume its working if someones been producing them like that anyway.
Yup, UDS or LDS are not needed.

I was never going to mass produce or sell these anyway. I have "perfected" a method to create cartridge images and have successfully made "flash drives" out of my previous batches of 128KB carts. I have carts that contain a PRG file that, when executed from the desktop, installs a reset proof ram disk as drive C and extracts contents into the new C-drive and reboots as it would from a hard drive.

Comes in very handy when working on resto projects without floppy or hard drives. I'm extremely pleased with how it's worked out. Challenge is getting stuff to fit 128KB. UPX is your friend. Another dear friend is PFXAFX which let's you compress not only executables but everything.

If you don't want a ramdisk but have an app that has rsc files and others, I've got a neat workaround that as well.

Then finally I wrote a PowerShell script to create a 128KB image from the file you choose.

Been meaning to do a write-up on it. Cool stuff.
Locked

Return to “HARDWARE DISCUSSIONS”