The TF330 is here
Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator
-
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5528
- Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
- Location: Glasgow, UK
Re: The TF330 is here
Maybe next time... you can waste a lot of time with this sort of thing.
Ok it’s now time to do something sad... this guy isn’t cutting it anymore. He’s a MC68030RC16...
He needs replaced..
I have to solder one of these into this board perm....
And the plastic versions don’t fit due to the standoff’s.
I await the hate
Ok it’s now time to do something sad... this guy isn’t cutting it anymore. He’s a MC68030RC16...
He needs replaced..
I have to solder one of these into this board perm....
And the plastic versions don’t fit due to the standoff’s.
I await the hate
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
- 8 Bit Dreams
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 785
- Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
- Location: Germany
Re: The TF330 is here
For me would be easier to redesign that pcb, making 4 holes larger instead of sacrifice ceramic cpu - these are getting rare...
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
-
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5528
- Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
- Location: Glasgow, UK
Re: The TF330 is here
The cost would be the same for me and would delay the TF330 until after Xmas
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
-
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5528
- Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
- Location: Glasgow, UK
Re: The TF330 is here
Update.
I have SDRAM working well enough to run code and games in. I havent turned on caches yet.
The CIA issue is still present. I can reproduce this reliably and it seems to be the cause of all my problems right now.
Essentially randomly a CIA write doesnt happen. Its very odd. This test code from DiagROM can reproduce my issue reliably.
Essentially the traces show that after a few turns round the loop the write to CIA timer B doesnt happen/take and we never get a reply from BFED01.
Very odd. Nothing unusual on the scope. The cycles are longer than the standard ones. Probably some emulation for the CIAs going on in the chipset.
EDIT: I have attached the trace. The line that seems to be having an issue is
2287 00BFE601 HIGH BYTE AEAE HIGH BYTE 1 0
I have SDRAM working well enough to run code and games in. I havent turned on caches yet.
The CIA issue is still present. I can reproduce this reliably and it seems to be the cause of all my problems right now.
Essentially randomly a CIA write doesnt happen. Its very odd. This test code from DiagROM can reproduce my issue reliably.
Code: Select all
.loopa:
move.l #$f0,$dff180
move.b $400(a5),CIACtrl-V+1(a6)
move.b $500(a5),CIACtrl-V+2(a6)
move.b #(CIATIME&$FF),$400(a5)
move.b #(CIATIME>>8),$500(a5) ; Set registers to wait for 10000ms
.wait:
move.w #$0,$dff180
cmp.w #120,Frames-V(a6)
bge .vblankoverrun
btst d2,$d00(a4)
beq .wait
add.l #1,Ticks-V(a6)
move.w #$f,$dff180
.no:
dbf d6,.loopa ; Repeat this so we are doing it for a while
bset #0,(a3)
clr.l d6 ; Clear D6, meaning we have executed this without Vblank overrun
bra .exit
Very odd. Nothing unusual on the scope. The cycles are longer than the standard ones. Probably some emulation for the CIAs going on in the chipset.
EDIT: I have attached the trace. The line that seems to be having an issue is
2287 00BFE601 HIGH BYTE AEAE HIGH BYTE 1 0
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
-
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5528
- Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
- Location: Glasgow, UK
Re: The TF330 is here
Some interesting behaviour observed.
If you do not DSACK the CIA cycles then they repeat over and over.... At a guess if they arent acknowledged before a certain time in the DSACK cycle then the write is ignored (reads dont really matter because the data is on the data bus all the time).
I get this when using the 020 at 14Mhz
And this when doing the same thing crossing the clock domains at 50Mhz..
Notice how little overlap there is between AS20 being high and DSACK being low in the 030 cycle. I think this is possibly the issue?
If you do not DSACK the CIA cycles then they repeat over and over.... At a guess if they arent acknowledged before a certain time in the DSACK cycle then the write is ignored (reads dont really matter because the data is on the data bus all the time).
I get this when using the 020 at 14Mhz
And this when doing the same thing crossing the clock domains at 50Mhz..
Notice how little overlap there is between AS20 being high and DSACK being low in the 030 cycle. I think this is possibly the issue?
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
-
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5528
- Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
- Location: Glasgow, UK
Re: The TF330 is here
So if you miss the window completely you dont register a write. just did this artificially as a test..
Which results in a completely repeatable/reliable never getting any results.
Very interesting that the chips behave this way actually.
Which results in a completely repeatable/reliable never getting any results.
Very interesting that the chips behave this way actually.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
-
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5528
- Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
- Location: Glasgow, UK
Re: The TF330 is here
Ok so a simple clock switch for these cycles works a treat but seems to have the same timing (to me) gaps as the others. Its a bit wasteful of CPLD space to do this.
It is however 100% reliable.
It is however 100% reliable.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
- 8 Bit Dreams
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 785
- Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
- Location: Germany
Re: The TF330 is here
If You are running out if space on cpld You can take XC95288XL - these are pin compatible with XC95144XL...
That would be even better, cause i can get these cheaper than XC95144XL's....
That would be even better, cause i can get these cheaper than XC95144XL's....
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
-
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 5528
- Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
- Location: Glasgow, UK
Re: The TF330 is here
Please tell me where already8 Bit Dreams wrote: ↑Sun Dec 02, 2018 5:46 pm If You are running out if space on cpld You can take XC95288XL - these are pin compatible with XC95144XL...
That would be even better, cause i can get these cheaper than XC95144XL's....
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
- 8 Bit Dreams
- Moderator Team
- Posts: 785
- Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
- Location: Germany