The TF330 is here

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 908
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by alenppc »

drunk noautoconfig - board boots perfectly, addmem worked, ram test ok. Have to see if this is repeatable every time. Gotta go get my daughter now will continue later :)

edit: nope. ram doesn't work every time :(
User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by supaduper »

My Findings:

Drunk jed , No Boot at all

Drunk No Autoconfig works fine with ADDMEM on a light system with less then 2mb on boot because obviously on a Heavy System with more than 2mb on Boot it won`t run which is perfectly normal

Also the `Livestream` jed works great for me its just not booting with the CD drive
alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 908
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by alenppc »

My experience is the opposite of Stephen's.

This CPU is working perfectly:
working.jpg
working.jpg (10.34 KiB) Viewed 6864 times


This one is very problematic:
problematic.jpg
problematic.jpg (11.38 KiB) Viewed 6864 times

They both work fine with the TF530.
User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by supaduper »

** Edit for my last post

Drunk no auto config crashes after a very short while
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by terriblefire »

Oh well. I have a few more ideas.

The plan of attack is going to be to disable the refresh cycles for now and get everything else working. So the next few jeds will not be for public consumption.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by terriblefire »

OK i'm quite convinced that the issue is due to the refresh cycle now. If i take them out i can get all the CPUs to boot no trouble every time.

Although obviously they eventually crash due to no refresh cycles.

Time for some simulations.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by terriblefire »

Slightly improved firmware over the ones i've emailed out..

https://github.com/terriblefire/terriblefire-binaries/blob/master/tf330/tf330r1_2018_12_20_beta.zip

I cant find any issues with it so i'm gonna start working on burst mode.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by terriblefire »

Just want to say thanks for everyone's help getting this far so fast with the TF330. Its a very very rare moment when i give myself a pat on the back ... but this is one of those.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
arananet
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:00 pm

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by arananet »

Hi, I came to see what's cooking here.. smell a rubber (sysinfo joke).. Im following S progress since the beggining. I just want to say hello :D

Regards,
Edu from Spain.
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

Hi Stephen,
jut wanna give my feedback about actual TF330 testing state: have here 4 different CPUs:
68EC030RP40C Genuine, USA
68EC030RP40B China
68030RC50C Genuine
68030RC50C China fake (rebranded)

the only one firmware stable booting on all CPUs is "no autoconfig":
https://github.com/terriblefire/terribl ... config.zip

later firmwares (today's release included) doesn't boot on my card, giving different colours or just black screen after CPU reset. I wasn't sure about my card/riser, but this no autoconfig firmware showed me that my card/riser are working fine - it boots ten times from ten attempts: after a soft reboot, hard reboot and so on. Didn't managed to add ram though, typing ADDMEM START 40000000 TO 44000000 in CLI returns error
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
Post Reply

Return to “TF330”