The TF330 is here

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by supaduper »

Ok, so after some serious chip removal then testing , here is my best guess what happened to me

I swapped out the Ram first and managed to get it to run...briefly died again,so I swapped out the CPLD and ..got nothing

So then I swappped out the IDE to SD card and put a bog standard cheapo IDE to CF that we all normally use with the latest Firmware and it booted !!

So in conclusion did the IDE to SD card die and take the Board with it ? ( I know it was dead at the time because I did try the IDE to CF as well).

I do want to put the SD card adapter back in in case I kill it again. as you can see in the picture below that IDE to SD adapter has lot more going on than just the standard pass through IDE CF adapter we normally use.

Steve what I will do now is put it on soak test again with the latest firmware and with just a standard IDE to Cf ok, and lets see how that goes
Attachments
TF330 IDE To SD dead maybe.jpg
TF330 IDE To SD dead maybe.jpg (270.41 KiB) Viewed 5084 times
TF330 ram chip dead maybe.jpg
TF330 ram chip dead maybe.jpg (273.79 KiB) Viewed 5084 times
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by terriblefire »

If you can.. measure the voltage of the data pins on the ram side of the bus buffers.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by terriblefire »

I would recommend the pre alpha firmware for checking for dead ram.

My concern right now is that the RAM is getting 5V.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by supaduper »

terriblefire wrote: Tue Dec 18, 2018 10:45 am If you can.. measure the voltage of the data pins on the ram side of the bus buffers.
Just measured random data lines on the Bus Fets and on the A1 to A8 data pins i get under 1v, and on the B1 to B8 data pins I get highest reading of 2,8v and lower
The Vcc is a constant 3,3v :)
alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 908
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by alenppc »

So yesterday I didn't get much testing done since the kids were temperamental however... now the gold CPU I was using originally doesn't boot at all anymore. It looks like it might have died, I have to try it in a TF530.

Another gold CPU decided to start working with or without MMUDIS. The same CPU wouldn't get ram recognized the day before.

It's all very puzzling. Looks like completely random behaviour to me.
User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by supaduper »

alenppc wrote: Tue Dec 18, 2018 12:52 pm So yesterday I didn't get much testing done since the kids were temperamental however... now the gold CPU I was using originally doesn't boot at all anymore. It looks like it might have died, I have to try it in a TF530.

Another gold CPU decided to start working with or without MMUDIS. The same CPU wouldn't get ram recognized the day before.

It's all very puzzling. Looks like completely random behaviour to me.
Could be a bad PCB Alen ,wont be the first :)
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24182
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by exxos »

supaduper wrote: Tue Dec 18, 2018 12:26 pm Just measured random data lines on the Bus Fets and on the A1 to A8 data pins i get under 1v, and on the B1 to B8 data pins I get highest reading of 2,8v and lower
The Vcc is a constant 3,3v :)
Which side is connected to what ? (not familiar with TF designs sorry all!) I assume one side is the CPU side with pull ups, so assume that should be switching to 5V ?

The other side of the buffer, I assume is 3.3V side connected to the RAM.

So are you saying the supposed 3.3V RAM side is only switching to 1V ?
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by supaduper »

exxos wrote: Tue Dec 18, 2018 1:06 pm
supaduper wrote: Tue Dec 18, 2018 12:26 pm Just measured random data lines on the Bus Fets and on the A1 to A8 data pins i get under 1v, and on the B1 to B8 data pins I get highest reading of 2,8v and lower
The Vcc is a constant 3,3v :)
Which side is connected to what ? (not familiar with TF designs sorry all!) I assume one side is the CPU side with pull ups, so assume that should be switching to 5V ?

The other side of the buffer, I assume is 3.3V side connected to the RAM.

So are you saying the supposed 3.3V RAM side is only switching to 1V ?
Ram side are pins B1 to B8 and give a highest reading of 2.7v
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24182
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by exxos »

supaduper wrote: Tue Dec 18, 2018 1:23 pm Ram side are pins B1 to B8 and give a highest reading of 2.7v
That should be fine then for 3.3V stuff.. a little low, but that might be the drop across the buffer (i've not checked the pdf).
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by supaduper »

Here are the data PDF`s for the Bus fets and the 258mb ram
all looks good regarding the tolerances from what little i know lol
Attachments
TF330 Ram data pdf MT48LC64M4A2, 32M8A2, 16M16A2 rev D,G.pdf
(2.09 MiB) Downloaded 190 times
TF330 Bus Buffer data pdf sn74cb3t3245.pdf
(1.24 MiB) Downloaded 202 times
Post Reply

Return to “TF330”