The TF330 is here

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by terriblefire »

Ok after some tests with the new CD32 I'm happy to put this board into the beta phase. Supaduper should have his board today or tomorrow. @alenppc and @8 Bit Dreams.. could you send me your addresses again. They were stored in my EAB mail.. which is gone forever.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 908
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by alenppc »

Gladly! I emailed you.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by terriblefire »

2 boards just placed in the post box.

I have the machine rock solid with only one issue. CD drive doesnt work at all. Even with stock power supply.

However i can report the TF330 works perfectly with the stock power supply with the drive not running. I guess there is some debugging to do there. Possibly this is around bus grants etc.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by terriblefire »

Soak test in progress



24 Hr test .. lets see if the claims that this badger isnt stable with the capacitor config i've chosen is warranted.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 908
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by alenppc »

How strong is a stock CD32 PSU on the +5V line? I got some people telling me they had to upgrade the PSU to get their PS/2 keyboards to work on the riser with TF328. I suppose it also depends how much power a keyboard draws. The one I have does 0.1 amps.
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

Stock PSU is 2.2Amps only
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by terriblefire »

Although YouTube has been crapping out we're at 80 rounds and counting
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

Have all parts here except these level shifters, can You please post a part number or a BOM file, will build TF330 same day it arrives ;) :geek:
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by terriblefire »

8 Bit Dreams wrote: Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:54 am Have all parts here except these level shifters, can You please post a part number or a BOM file, will build TF330 same day it arrives ;) :geek:
You guys know how i feel about BOMs. :P

The level shifters are RS Stock code 6631685. SN74CB3T3245PW

as for the rest i'll post what I sent to superduper.

At the moment i've not nailed the caps down... the 0603s are all 1uF multilayer and the 1203s under the chips are 0.1uF.. the two big ones by the edge connector are smoothing caps so use what you use on the TF328. The regulator ones are the same as always.

EDIT: Remember I dont need to know all the capacitor values to get a PCB made. Which is how I operate. I figure out a lot of stuff after measuring.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF330 is here

Post by terriblefire »

Summary of where we are:

TF330 ..

1. Boots
2. IDE and 030 up and working
3. CPU at 50Mhz
4. Caches are enabled.
5. SDRAM working in a "safe" mode..
6. Systest passed 155 rounds in 20 hours.
7. Wifi Module is up and working.

Remaining..

Burst mode SDRAM
Software config for the Wifi Module.
Investigate why CD Drive doesnt work.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
Post Reply

Return to “TF330”