Terriblefire Accelerators

Help & news on accelerators from TF, Amiga, Atari, CD32 etc

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5423
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by terriblefire »

Thanks but I wanted to keep it simple and avoid flash.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5423
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by terriblefire »

alenppc wrote: Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:21 pm Stephen, just saw the latest stream. My A1000 is the same. The TF53x won’t boot without a kickstart rom adapter. I can send you a pcb for one, it also serves as a relocator. The board won’t fit without it anyway
I was going to use a right angled relocator and my new rom board. Or just raise it up until it fits over the Phoenix board
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
EzdineG
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 5:19 pm

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by EzdineG »

terriblefire wrote: Mon Jan 14, 2019 10:21 am I was going to use a right angled relocator and my new rom board. Or just raise it up until it fits over the Phoenix board
Earlier this year I created a kickstart switcher / relocator for use specifically with the TF530 on NTSC machines. It fits nicely with the floppy and even the rf shield. All you need is the board and a few pin strips:

Kickstart Switcher
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5423
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by terriblefire »

The design goal of the TFBoard64 was to work on both the Amiga and the ST. There are a few things extra needed to get both working.

I’m going try get my own board working. Thanks for the suggestions.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

EzdineG wrote: Mon Jan 14, 2019 2:52 pm

Earlier this year I created a kickstart switcher / relocator

Kickstart Switcher
Adrian, it was last year, not this year ;)
Time goes by too fast :)
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5423
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by terriblefire »

Just to explain my board.. it’s not because in wanted to make a ROM board... there are plenty out there already. It’s to make one that gets my board going on the STFM

Specifically this needs to decode address 0. On the Amiga the CIA has the overlay option to do this for us. On the ST GLUE does it but it decodes the wrong location when you want to use 256K roms. So this was the idea. Also to let the ST guys use 27C400 roms.

While I was at it I figured I’d make one that also worked on the Amiga and maybe any 68000 system. Then I don’t get asked about this again.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6049
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by PhilC »

Got my TF530 assembled finally but need to get hold of the Xillinx programmer.

Am I safe getting one of the cheap chinese programmers, such as this?

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/M102-Xilinx- ... 1438.l2649

Then I will need to acquire the program etc.

Advice is greatly appreciated :-)
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
PaulJ
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by PaulJ »

Forgottenmyname wrote: Tue Jan 15, 2019 6:56 pm Got my TF530 assembled finally but need to get hold of the Xillinx programmer.

Am I safe getting one of the cheap chinese programmers, such as this?

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/M102-Xilinx- ... 1438.l2649

Then I will need to acquire the program etc.

Advice is greatly appreciated :-)
Forgottenmyname, I would appreciate it if you would keep me up to date on what you need to finish the 530. I ordere the board last week and am currently ordering parts. Thanks. :)
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6049
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by PhilC »

Will do Paul, just ordered the programmer from China. got everything else done, just need the rom adaptor board.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5423
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by terriblefire »

I’ve said this before but the first time you use the cheap programmers use it with ISE 10.. that reflashes the cpld on the programmer. Later ISE versions detect the clones.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
Post Reply

Return to “Terriblefire's channel”