Terriblefire Accelerators

Help & news on accelerators from TF, Amiga, Atari, CD32 etc

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

SukkoPera
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:49 pm

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by SukkoPera »

One more question: will the TF530 (with a recent firmware) work with this expansion?

http://www.mkl211015.altervista.org/ram68k/

It seems it needs an autoconfig signal, where can I take it on an A500? Is it on the TF card?
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by terriblefire »

SukkoPera wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 5:50 pm One more question: will the TF530 (with a recent firmware) work with this expansion?

http://www.mkl211015.altervista.org/ram68k/

It seems it needs an autoconfig signal, where can I take it on an A500? Is it on the TF card?
How i've approached the autoconfig is as follows.

First request to E80000 does not get passed through to the amiga at all. It configures the RAM.
Second request to E80000 does not get passed through to the amiga at all. It configures the SPI.
Third request makes it to the Amiga. Everything happens from here.

I dont think you need an autoconfig line.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
hlide.fremen
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2018 6:44 pm

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by hlide.fremen »

terriblefire wrote: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:06 am Did you mean 0xD00000? Either way if alenppc isn’t seeing the issue I’m betting you have an issue like a short somewhere on the address bus.
I believe I read several times that slow RAM starts at $C00000.
Looking at https://www.amigacoding.com/index.php/Amiga_memory_map. It shows that if you want to have 1.5 MByte as pseudo-fast RAM, it must be mapped in the range $C00000-$D7FFFF. It seems you handle $C00000-$C7FFFF not as it was intended.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by terriblefire »

hlide.fremen wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:03 pm
terriblefire wrote: Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:06 am Did you mean 0xD00000? Either way if alenppc isn’t seeing the issue I’m betting you have an issue like a short somewhere on the address bus.
I believe I read several times that slow RAM starts at $C00000.
Looking at https://www.amigacoding.com/index.php/Amiga_memory_map. It shows that if you want to have 1.5 MByte as pseudo-fast RAM, it must be mapped in the range $C00000-$D7FFFF. It seems you handle $C00000-$C7FFFF not as it was intended.
I dont actually handle this area in any way. It gets treated like any other 68000 bus cycle. The only things that get special treatment are the IDE area ($DAxxxx-DExxxx) and the Zorro II fast ram ($200000-$3FFFFF). Everything else gets the same slow bus cycle treatment.

I dont actually have and slow RAM cards but i have tested slow ZII ram and AlenPPC has tested slow ram in the $C00000-$D7FFFF area with no reported issues. I kinda take the view that if If only one person is reporting an issue its possibly their card that has an issue. If more than one person is seeing it i'll see what I can do to investigate.

I am leaning towards the TF534 for the future but I guess since its not out yet I need to keep looking at the TF530.

EDIT: I wrote this reply while taking my kid for a haircut so the original reply was brisk.. i apologize and i've softened it up a bit. I should probably not reply when i'm on the move but I find it tough to get everyone an answer otherwise.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
hlide.fremen
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2018 6:44 pm

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by hlide.fremen »

terriblefire wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:10 pm Everything else gets the same slow bus cycle treatment.
That's good to know. Indeed, it should not be an issue then.
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

SukkoPera wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 5:43 pm Some guy was mentioning in the PeteAU's expansion thread on EAB that to get a 100% working setup he had to use the latest bus JED but the previous RAM JED. Does that make any sense?

Should I try this?
Don't get confused! it was BEFORE Stephen released backported firmwares.
JUST CHECK YOU REALLY HAVE THE LAST ONE!
https://github.com/terriblefire/terribl ... ster/tf530
it should be tf530_2018_11_4_beta.zip
and NOT tf530_2018_11_3_beta.zip!!!!<<<<<-THIS still has slow ram issue!!!
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

8 Bit Dreams wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 9:18 pm
SukkoPera wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 5:43 pm Some guy was mentioning in the PeteAU's expansion thread on EAB that to get a 100% working setup he had to use the latest bus JED but the previous RAM JED. Does that make any sense?

Should I try this?
Don't get confused! it was BEFORE Stephen released backported firmwares.
JUST CHECK YOU REALLY HAVE THE LAST ONE!
https://github.com/terriblefire/terribl ... ster/tf530
it should be tf530_2018_11_4_beta.zip
and NOT tf530_2018_11_3_beta.zip!!!!<<<<<-THIS still has slow ram issue!!!
SukkoPera wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 5:50 pm One more question: will the TF530 (with a recent firmware) work with this expansion?

http://www.mkl211015.altervista.org/ram68k/

It seems it needs an autoconfig signal, where can I take it on an A500? Is it on the TF card?
No, these cards will NOT work with TF530, with a standard firmware, all 8MB ZorroII space is occupied by them and there is a memory conflict.
These expansions will work with TF534 cards as it's memory is allocated in ZorroIII space area
MKL released beta firmware with 4MB instread of 8, so it can be used with TF530, but it needs fine tuning, i am not sure Stephen will do it, there is no point in it since TF534 was born...
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5449
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by terriblefire »

8 Bit Dreams wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 9:18 pm
SukkoPera wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 5:43 pm Some guy was mentioning in the PeteAU's expansion thread on EAB that to get a 100% working setup he had to use the latest bus JED but the previous RAM JED. Does that make any sense?

Should I try this?
Don't get confused! it was BEFORE Stephen released backported firmwares.
JUST CHECK YOU REALLY HAVE THE LAST ONE!
https://github.com/terriblefire/terribl ... ster/tf530
it should be tf530_2018_11_4_beta.zip
and NOT tf530_2018_11_3_beta.zip!!!!<<<<<-THIS still has slow ram issue!!!
Indeed the second last one had the issue. alenppc noticed this and we nailed it.

My theory on what is happening is that with caches enabled it looks to the OS like the D80000-DEFFFF area is ram. When in fact its the IDE area.

The latest firmware only enables caches for the true fastram. Nothing else. Probably we can relax that a bit in time but the first priority was to sort the issues out.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
SukkoPera
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:49 pm

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by SukkoPera »

8 Bit Dreams wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 9:18 pm
SukkoPera wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 5:43 pm Some guy was mentioning in the PeteAU's expansion thread on EAB that to get a 100% working setup he had to use the latest bus JED but the previous RAM JED. Does that make any sense?

Should I try this?
Don't get confused! it was BEFORE Stephen released backported firmwares.
This was actually 3 days ago: http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=128 ... tcount=447

The only difference is that he has a rev.3 board, I have a rev.2.
8 Bit Dreams wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 9:18 pm JUST CHECK YOU REALLY HAVE THE LAST ONE!
https://github.com/terriblefire/terribl ... ster/tf530
it should be tf530_2018_11_4_beta.zip
and NOT tf530_2018_11_3_beta.zip!!!!<<<<<-THIS still has slow ram issue!!!
Actually I have tf530_2018_11_17_beta.
SukkoPera
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:49 pm

Re: Terriblefire Accelerators

Post by SukkoPera »

8 Bit Dreams wrote: Sat Dec 01, 2018 9:23 pm No, these cards will NOT work with TF530, with a standard firmware, all 8MB ZorroII space is occupied by them and there is a memory conflict.
These expansions will work with TF534 cards as it's memory is allocated in ZorroIII space area
MKL released beta firmware with 4MB instread of 8, so it can be used with TF530, but it needs fine tuning, i am not sure Stephen will do it, there is no point in it since TF534 was born...
That makes sense, but I had understood that when Stephen backported the TF534 firmware to the TF530, these cards somehow started to work as well. Isn't kipper2k's 8MB+IDE card working with the TF530? As far as I know, that one and mkl's card are both derived from lvd's earlier work.

Where can I find the 4MB beta firmware?

This mkl is a nice guy but he is really bad at documentation! :?
Post Reply

Return to “Terriblefire's channel”