RESET circuit tweaks

All information relating to the Alpha plus all the WIP threads etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4013
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by Icky »

Yep I have both of those.

Just looking at the Rt now
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24239
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos »

Seems like that chip is simply junk then to me. Just doesn't do what its supposed to. Could probably design a simple reset circuit using a few,cap, transistor. Will look into it in the morning...
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4013
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by Icky »

exxos wrote: Sun Nov 11, 2018 12:22 am Seems like that chip is simply junk then to me. Just doesn't do what its supposed to. Could probably design a simple reset circuit using a few,cap, transistor. Will look into it in the morning...
Works fine at 5.4V but below its unusable.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24239
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos »

1-Figure1-1.png
1-Figure1-1.png (6.5 KiB) Viewed 4141 times

Should only really need that above...

Capacitor assumed zero on power up, so charges via the resistor, when the voltage hits about 2v it triggers the gate..

On power down, the 5v rail collapses and the cap is discharged via the diode.

Reset switch goes across the cap.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4013
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by Icky »

exxos wrote: Sun Nov 11, 2018 12:29 am 1-Figure1-1.png


Should only really need that above...

Capacitor assumed zero on power up, so charges via the resistor, when the voltage hits about 2v it triggers the gate..

On power down, the 5v rail collapses and the cap is discharged via the diode.

Reset switch goes across the cap.
Sounds right. For something so simple there are many designs and chips out there. Even Atari have used different circuits in each of their machines.

I thought you were going to look at it in the morning ;-)

I have my morning planned - SR98 Recap
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24239
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos »

Yeah but I thought there be a image on Google and there was ;)

I don't see the need for a ic to do this job. The only missing feature is if the voltage drops below 5v it should do a reset, but who cares ? I mean if powers dropping the machine is going to be not functioning regardless if reset is triggered or not.

So take out the reset board and try the simple circuit instead ;)
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4013
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by Icky »

exxos wrote: Sun Nov 11, 2018 12:42 am Yeah but I thought there be a image on Google and there was ;)

I don't see the need for a ic to do this job. The only missing feature is if the voltage drops below 5v it should do a reset, but who cares ? I mean if powers dropping the machine is going to be not functioning regardless if reset is triggered or not.

So take out the reset board and try the simple circuit instead ;)
A good mantra to have "keep it simple" have been doing that for many many years.

Reset board has now been removed and now looking at a simple solution based on your thoughts last night.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24239
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos »

:thumbup:

If we can do away with the IC 555 or whatever,then its saving pcb space and the cost of a part. We got the cap and resistor and diode already on the MB... May need to swap around if we need to invert the reset line... But pretty much just remove the 555 and link over the rc line to the 555 output..
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6069
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by PhilC »

Morning,

Can't help think why don't we just keep the 555? I know you want to limit the amount of chips etc but if the reset chip fails it's easier to diagnose a faulty 555 than start looking at failed components?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6069
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by PhilC »

That and 555 cost pennies.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
Post Reply

Return to “ALPHA DEVELOPMENT INFO”