kodak80 progress

Where Alpha builders can post pics and progress etc
sety
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 8:47 am

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by sety »

My hands shake to much to finer stuff as well these days :( Its why I sent off the STE boosters to have the finer pitch header pins soldered for me.
The shakes run in my family. It's bad enough that people ask me if I'm okay. I laugh and say "I'm not terrified, my hands just do that" Have you tried propranolol?
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24182
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by exxos »

sety wrote: Sun Nov 18, 2018 11:56 am
My hands shake to much to finer stuff as well these days :( Its why I sent off the STE boosters to have the finer pitch header pins soldered for me.
The shakes run in my family. It's bad enough that people ask me if I'm okay. I laugh and say "I'm not terrified, my hands just do that" Have you tried propranolol?
Mine as well :( oddly my hands are OK until I start doing stuff like smt chips and my hands shake like mad :roll:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
kodak80
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane,QLD Australia
Contact:

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by kodak80 »

Good news. :D

Board number 1 has a faulty YM2149 chip which was what was stopping the floppy drive being seen. We did some diagnosing yesterday and found that chip was faulty by swapping them between my boards. We also checked board 1 to make sure that there was nothing bad with the soldering and connectivity before we put the good 2149 chip in as we did not want to damage the good chip.

I now need to revisit activating the blitter chip on board 1 to see if the faulty 2149 was also impacting this working.
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Creator of the Atari ST Review magazine archive: https://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4013
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by Icky »

kodak80 wrote: Sun Nov 25, 2018 9:22 pm Good news. :D

Board number 1 has a faulty YM2149 chip which was what was stopping the floppy drive being seen. We did some diagnosing yesterday and found that chip was faulty by swapping them between my boards. We also checked board 1 to make sure that there was nothing bad with the soldering and connectivity before we put the good 2149 chip in as we did not want to damage the good chip.

I now need to revisit activating the blitter chip on board 1 to see if the faulty 2149 was also impacting this working.
:yay2: - Glad you found the problem
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24182
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by exxos »

:bravo: :goodpost:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
kodak80
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane,QLD Australia
Contact:

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by kodak80 »

Spent time today unsoldering the jumpers and re-fitting the Blitter on board 1 so I now have the Blitter chip working on board 1 as well now. :D

Looks like the faulty YM2149 chip was also the cause for the black screen when I enabled the Blitter chip.
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Creator of the Atari ST Review magazine archive: https://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24182
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by exxos »

:bravo:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6063
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by PhilC »

Well done Kodak
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4013
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by Icky »

:dualthumbup: - you now have two boards running with blitters :)
Post Reply

Return to “ALPHA USER BUILDS”