Icky - Progress

Where Alpha builders can post pics and progress etc
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4004
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by Icky »

exxos wrote: Mon Oct 08, 2018 11:38 am Is there a typo on pin 5, as on the ST sch pin 5 is drive_0..


1.JPG
Yes a typo in my diagram pin 5 should be drive 0 - I did create it in the early hours - thought I had found all the bugs.

I guess I'm not so good with connectors either :)
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4004
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by Icky »

exxos wrote: Mon Oct 08, 2018 11:38 am Is there a typo on pin 5, as on the ST sch pin 5 is drive_0..
Yes a typo in my diagram pin 5 should be drive 0 - I did create it in the early hours - thought I had found all the bugs.

I guess I'm not so good with connectors either :)


Correcting -

Screen Shot 2018-10-08 at 13.21.15.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-08 at 13.21.15.png (232.12 KiB) Viewed 3952 times
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by exxos »

Icky wrote: Mon Oct 08, 2018 1:21 pm I guess I'm not so good with connectors either :)
12 pins better than me though ;)

Started a new thread for this board...

https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/forum/viewt ... =19&t=1248
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by exxos »

Just looking through the DMA pdf...

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (66.38 KiB) Viewed 3928 times

It only seems to say is driven with a open collector, but does not really say is needed for any reason..

2.jpg
2.jpg (70.52 KiB) Viewed 3926 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4004
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by Icky »

exxos wrote: Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:03 pm Just looking through the DMA pdf...

It only seems to say is driven with a open collector, but does not really say is needed for any reason..
I was just scoping the RDY line on the DMA and noticed the undershoot like in your BAD DMA MYTH http://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/last/DMAfix/.

DS1Z_QuickPrint11.png
DS1Z_QuickPrint11.png (36.38 KiB) Viewed 3922 times
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by exxos »

Icky wrote: Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:23 pm I was just scoping the RDY line on the DMA and noticed the undershoot like in your BAD DMA MYTH http://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/last/DMAfix/.
It can also be where you have grounded the scope.. assuming you are on a gnd point very close to the DMA..

Also try on x10 probe... Sometimes a probe itself can appear to give you things which are not actually there...

It is also worth probing every pin of the DMA to see if anything looks odd... The address and databus to the DMA will likely look like chaos anyway..
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4004
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by Icky »

exxos wrote: Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:26 pm
Icky wrote: Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:23 pm I was just scoping the RDY line on the DMA and noticed the undershoot like in your BAD DMA MYTH http://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/last/DMAfix/.
It can also be where you have grounded the scope.. assuming you are on a gnd point very close to the DMA..

Also try on x10 probe... Sometimes a probe itself can appear to give you things which are not actually there...

It is also worth probing every pin of the DMA to see if anything looks odd... The address and databus to the DMA will likely look like chaos anyway..
Probe is on 10x and ground point I am currently using is the DMA socket shield lugs. Will move it closer and look at the other lines.
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4004
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by Icky »

Icky wrote: Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:31 pm
exxos wrote: Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:26 pm

It can also be where you have grounded the scope.. assuming you are on a gnd point very close to the DMA..

Also try on x10 probe... Sometimes a probe itself can appear to give you things which are not actually there...

It is also worth probing every pin of the DMA to see if anything looks odd... The address and databus to the DMA will likely look like chaos anyway..
Probe is on 10x and ground point I am currently using is the DMA socket shield lugs. Will move it closer and look at the other lines.
So far nothing looks out of place. Have even tried different ACSI cables and drives.

Odd though as I did get the device recognised once but not since - must of been a fluke or all the stars aligned
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by exxos »

Icky wrote: Mon Oct 08, 2018 11:38 pm Odd though as I did get the device recognised once but not since - must of been a fluke or all the stars aligned
Have you tried with and without the RP900 in place ?

Other than that TTL chip there isn't much else to check... for the hell of it, if you have a 001 DMA :lol:

It could be possible noise on the DMA port itself on a dataline ?
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4004
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Icky - Progress

Post by Icky »

exxos wrote: Mon Oct 08, 2018 11:51 pm Have you tried with and without the RP900 in place ?
Just did - no difference still doesn't see floppy when hdd is connected
exxos wrote: Mon Oct 08, 2018 11:51 pm Other than that TTL chip there isn't much else to check... for the hell of it, if you have a 001 DMA :lol:
Nope don't have a -001 DMA just -38's
Post Reply

Return to “ALPHA USER BUILDS”