DiagROM for ST

DiagROM software & help

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

Post Reply
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5433
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire »

OK i just pushed an update that echo's to MIDI. I've not got midi in working yet so you need a keyboard or serial port to control it.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos »

terriblefire wrote: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:22 pm OK i just pushed an update that echo's to MIDI. I've not got midi in working yet so you need a keyboard or serial port to control it.
If it can do the basics tests automatically on boot and spit out the results, then that should be fine anyway.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5433
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire »

exxos wrote: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:30 pm If it can do the basics tests automatically on boot and spit out the results, then that should be fine anyway.
Yeah it does this. If you actually get as far as the menu your machine is in pretty good shape.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6049
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by PhilC »

I'll burn it to a couple of eproms ready tomorrow night.

What size are they 27c512?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos »

terriblefire wrote: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:36 pm
exxos wrote: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:30 pm If it can do the basics tests automatically on boot and spit out the results, then that should be fine anyway.
Yeah it does this. If you actually get as far as the menu your machine is in pretty good shape.
Sweet. I would leave it at that for now then.. most likely some chip is failing to init preventing GEM from booting up, its just working out what...
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5433
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire »

Forgottenmyname wrote: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:38 pm I'll burn it to a couple of eproms ready tomorrow night.

What size are they 27c512?
There is a rom image for each machine type. Very much depends on what your machine is. I've provided HI and LO split binaries of each version too incase you have 2 roms on your machine variant.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6049
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by PhilC »

Ok cool thanks. Will burn it to a couple of eproms for the diag cart and then use it once I've got to the bomb stage.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos »

Just gave the STE ones a quick blast...

#crappycam TM




Via putty.

https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Atarian Computing
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:27 am

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by Atarian Computing »

K, this whole DiagROM is seriously cool. The Atari cart has it's use, it's awesome to test keys on keyboard, all the ports etc. But this takes it to another level. If this can be expanded to be a dead test cart as well it would be perfect. But I suppose it already is?
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24083
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos »

Atarian Computing wrote: Thu Sep 20, 2018 5:58 pm K, this whole DiagROM is seriously cool. The Atari cart has it's use, it's awesome to test keys on keyboard, all the ports etc. But this takes it to another level. If this can be expanded to be a dead test cart as well it would be perfect. But I suppose it already is?
Problem with the cart is it needs TOS to be partly working in order for the cart to boot...

With replacing the OS ROM's with this, it boots by itself and runs its own OS to do the tests. So it can debug lower level issues where the cartridge port may not even boot up.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Post Reply

Return to “DiagROM”