DiagROM for ST

DiagROM software & help

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24262
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos »

terriblefire wrote: Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:05 pm The Diagnosis cart is a toy for checking if something subtle is happening in on of the chips. DiagROM will help you find data bus shorts when building a machine.

I don't tend to use the cart much at all.. it can test a lot of things, but for me its pointless. I mean I know if the keyboard isn't working, I don't need the cart to tell me that. Over serial on a faulty machine, I only saw garbage output, if the system is working fine, then the serial is fine, but again, unless the machine is partly working its just useless for me.

czietz wrote a really good RAM test program https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/forum/viewt ... ?f=25&t=28 as the atari-cart wasn't finding some very subtle errors. So that one is more in-depth tests and finds such faults. But of course the machine has to be partly working to load it up. I'm waiting for the proper cartridge version at the moment as I want to add it to my own diag-cart board.

The tool I use is GB6 for testing, its not designed to be a diagnostic tool, but it tests a lot of the system and its the only program I really use.. Beyond that its guesswork and scope readings. As you know now with your new LA, you can quickly find things which would take me months to find otherwise. A lot of it is noise related glitches on the ST bus which are a nightmare to track down. Pretty much have to guess at what line is doing it and keep trying :roll:

There are not many who will really understand such problems, I mean look at the nightmare the DMA issues cause on the STe. Its why I made the choice to jump to designing a new ST board and debugging that instead. The ST faults are never ending and seem to be getting worse over time, I am really "done" with messing about with those faults. Once its been tested out and working stable, then it will start getting upgrades. Of course we need good tools to get the new STF board up and running.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire »

Yes. DMA on the STFM is a nightware enough :)

I've updated DiagROM to build 2 versions. One 256K (labelled STE but its not really exclusively that) and one for STFM (labelled ST).

https://github.com/terriblefire/diagrom ... master/bin

"STE" version is 256K, has version $0206 and has a base of $E00000
"ST" version is 192K, has version $0104 and has a base of $FC0000

Its trivial to add more configurations. Any code that anyone wants in here i'm happy to add.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24262
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos »

terriblefire wrote: Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:36 pm "STE" version is 256K, has version $0206 and has a base of $E00000
"ST" version is 256K, has version $0104 and has a base of $FC0000
Sweet! Everyone ROM combo there as well! :thumbup:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6072
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by PhilC »

Now if only you'd put 27c512 roms on the STF remake, got loads of them.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24262
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos »

Forgottenmyname wrote: Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:42 pm Now if only you'd put 27c512 roms on the STF remake, got loads of them.
I got loads of PLCC's ;) :P
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire »

I also just added a cart version too. For the whingers.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6072
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by PhilC »

terriblefire wrote: Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:24 pm I also just added a cart version too. For the whingers.
LMAO, thanks...... I think :lol:
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire »

Hold off trying this. just found an issue.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
crashman
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 2:55 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by crashman »

terriblefire wrote: Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:24 pm I also just added a cart version too. For the whingers.
Thanks!
For ALL your work.

The DiagRom will be a perfect add to a QuadTOS solution.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5450
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire »

ok fixed the issue. Now confirmed working on the ST.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
Post Reply

Return to “DiagROM”