ST536 - Build in progress

All about the ST536 030 ST booster.
HomeLate
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 6:36 am

ST536 - Build in progress

Post by HomeLate »

SMD parts finished... I hate soldering those PLCC sockets :roll:

20240207_211556.jpg
20240207_211556.jpg (270.16 KiB) Viewed 412 times
zChris
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 10:13 pm

Re: ST536 - Build in progress

Post by zChris »

Nice setup with the camera. Which model is it ?
HomeLate
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 6:36 am

Re: ST536 - Build in progress

Post by HomeLate »

That's a stereomicroscope (SM-4TP) with a 4k camera. I only use the camera to inspect my work.
HomeLate
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 6:36 am

Re: ST536 - Build in progress

Post by HomeLate »

Build complete. But ST boots with a white screen, which (probably) indicates a rom issue.

I had trouble burning the TOS 2.06 image from the TF536 site on a HN27C4096. After fidling the rom in the PLCC-2-DIP adapter, the rom was recognized and I could burn the rom in Xgecu.

The Xilinx programmed without any issue in ISE 14.7 (on an old XP box). I have to check the solder bits again under a microscope.
HomeLate
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 6:36 am

Re: ST536 - Build in progress

Post by HomeLate »

Well, I made big progress today.

First, one of the wires of my Xilinx programmer was somehow defective. Weird enough ISE never reported an issue and I assumed the CLPD was programmed succesfully. To rule the CLPD out, I checked the CLPD with a RPi and it was empty. This time I programmed the CLPD with the RPi and I had communication errors with the same cable. I made a new cable and voila, the CLPD was programmed and verified.

Next the rom. The HN27C4096 programmed without issues. Either byte swapped or not, I still had a white screen. I ordered some AT27C4096's and these arrived today. I programmed the byte swapped image with the TOS 2.06 (TF536 version) and EmuTOS. This time: succes! It booted right into TOS 2.06. After bank switching it also booted into EmuTOS.

After running some apps, the ST crashed. Keyboard nor mouse were working but I was still into TOS desktop. I rebooted the machine and it got stuck in TT-RAM check. Cold or warm boot, it locks up when it wants to test TT-RAM.

I'm going to check the solder joints again because I suspect it's a bad joint and a heat issue.

20240214_194915.jpg
20240214_194915.jpg (227.01 KiB) Viewed 232 times
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5956
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: ST536 - Build in progress

Post by PhilC »

It could also be that your CPU isn’t up to the task of running at 50mhz. You will definitely need a heat sink if you’ve not already fitted one.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
HomeLate
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 6:36 am

Re: ST536 - Build in progress

Post by HomeLate »

PhilC wrote: Wed Feb 14, 2024 9:43 pm It could also be that your CPU isn’t up to the task of running at 50mhz. You will definitely need a heat sink if you’ve not already fitted one.
I think it should be but I'm not sure. I have one running for ages, in a Blizzard MK IV, stock without heatsink at 50Mhz. I wanted to test the cpu in the Blizzard but I can't get it out of the socket :?

Anyway, I shelved the project for a few days to work on my STE. I will pick it up again in a few days.

Unfortunately it doesn't fit in a ST without modifying the case. Would the Mega ST a better option? I only have a ST and a STE. I haven't got a Mega ST yet.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5956
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: ST536 - Build in progress

Post by PhilC »

@HomeLate yed it should work in a Mega ST but you’d need some headers to lift it above some of the existing components.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
HomeLate
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 6:36 am

Re: ST536 - Build in progress

Post by HomeLate »

PhilC wrote: Thu Feb 15, 2024 12:27 pm @HomeLate yed it should work in a Mega ST but you’d need some headers to lift it above some of the existing components.
Ok, so the hunt for a Mega ST will begin in the near future ;)
HomeLate
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 6:36 am

Re: ST536 - Build in progress

Post by HomeLate »

PhilC wrote: Wed Feb 14, 2024 9:43 pm It could also be that your CPU isn’t up to the task of running at 50mhz. You will definitely need a heat sink if you’ve not already fitted one.
You were right about the heatsink. Yesterday evening it worked again. This time it ran without any issues during some GB6 benchmarks.
Post Reply

Return to “ST536 030 ST ACCELERATOR”