Basilisk II Atari

General Discussion, STOS.

Moderator: troed

User avatar
agranlund
Posts: 874
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by agranlund »

coonsgm wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 12:15 am Woohoo! Got this working. I pulled a new Quadra Rom and also used the 7.17.22 version of Atari Basilisk II.
Using the Falcon with CT63 running in RGB mode interlaced, 64k color, and emulated video. I was able to run with 256 colors and boot up Civ 2 and run for a while.
Big thanks to @Badwolf for his help on his video suggesting trying one of the previous versions versus the latest.
PXL_20240206_001048799.jpg
Nice to see it working on the CT63! :D
I believe the latest version was the one adding support for mmu-less machines.
Sounds like I broke something related to your setup in the process, or maybe 060 in general (hard to say, I don't have access to such hardware to test on myself). Glad you got it working with the previous version though.

peters wrote: Fri Jan 19, 2024 8:13 pm My Milan is very unstable with TOS, it never used to be. I'm not sure what is going on.
Are you attempting to run Basilisk on a Milan?
It does direct access to the (non-existing on Milan) ACIA so it would most likely crash and burn quite early.


Side note, I know the last version says it requires MMU for 68030+ but you can force it to run in mmu-less mode on any CPU by putting "nommu true" in basilisk.inf.
Not using the mmu is slower, but if you have rom-in-ram and/or want to run under Mint with memory protection then that might do the trick (untested by me, and there could very well be other factors preventing it from working with either of those)
peters
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2023 8:44 pm

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by peters »

Yes on the Milan it crashes before even launching the Mac.
coonsgm
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 1:30 am

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by coonsgm »

I believe the latest version was the one adding support for mmu-less machines.
Sounds like I broke something related to your setup in the process, or maybe 060 in general (hard to say, I don't have access to such hardware to test on myself). Glad you got it working with the previous version though.
Not sure what it was, but the result is that running with 64k color only allowed me to select the "thousands of colors" option in MacOS.

It's awesome, and thank you for the effort and time you put into this. Super fun thing to tinker with on the Falcon. By the way I also got it running on my "short" 520ST with a TF536 inside.

No GPU like you, but using the "undo" zoom, it's not too bad. I wouldn't use it as a daily driver, but definitely a fun test to play around with.

My Mega ST with a TF536 + ET4000 on the other hand just doesn't like it. However, the TF536 has troubles running alongside with the ET4000 anyways, so I think it's more a machine noise issue than a Basilisk code issue.

In any case, thanks again!
coonsgm
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 1:30 am

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by coonsgm »

peters wrote: Sat Jan 20, 2024 11:34 am Renaming the file didn't help.

Starting Basilisk under mint and then just clicking quit from the menu causes a system lock up.
Just wanted to revive this in case you're still looking to get it running. I reset my NVRAM and CT63 bios settings to try and fix an issue and afterwards wasn't able to load Basilisk...it would freeze on a white screen.

After a bit more digging in various forum posts, I thought that having TOS mapped in RAM by the MMU might affect the MMU video emulation.

So I turned off TOS in ROM (which had been turned on when I reset in the CT63 bios settings) and voila! It works again....and I thought that might be a reason for your difficulties getting it to run.
coonsgm
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 1:30 am

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by coonsgm »

Ok, been playing around with this some more because I can't leave well enough alone.

I got a great (I think it's great) Blowup setting to work on my Falcon with the CT63 running at 70mhz with my OSSC and modern monitor setup.

Running 960x608 @ 256 colors. Emulating from this rather than what I had been doing previously RGB max resolution + overscan @ True Color gives a significant performance advantage at least when running games.

Warcraft II is totally playable now versus practically a slideshow.

Steve
Posts: 2696
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by Steve »

I wonder if you got a scaler that supports motion adaptive deinterlacing (ossc doesn't, just bob deinterlacing) it might completely remove any flicker and give you an ultimate experience :)

The only other thing you can do on a Falcon is overclock the bus. I can achieve that kind of res on VGA (non interlaced) with 25mhz bus & 50mhz videl and no need for blowup.
coonsgm
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 1:30 am

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by coonsgm »

Steve wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2024 1:21 pm I wonder if you got a scaler that supports motion adaptive deinterlacing (ossc doesn't, just bob deinterlacing) it might completely remove any flicker and give you an ultimate experience :)

The only other thing you can do on a Falcon is overclock the bus. I can achieve that kind of res on VGA (non interlaced) with 25mhz bus & 50mhz videl and no need for blowup.
Awesome!! I'll take a look at that.
User avatar
agranlund
Posts: 874
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by agranlund »

I just wanted to give a huge thanks for posting that video!

Having mostly just seen how it runs on 68030 with and without graphics card it was really quite cool to see how it performed on CT60 with emulated graphics.
I'd imagine stuff like Warcraft1 and Lemmings would run well too, and perhaps Marathon unless it gets bogged down by the emulated gfx.
coonsgm
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 1:30 am

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by coonsgm »

agranlund wrote: Wed Jun 12, 2024 11:00 pm I just wanted to give a huge thanks for posting that video!

Having mostly just seen how it runs on 68030 with and without graphics card it was really quite cool to see how it performed on CT60 with emulated graphics.
I'd imagine stuff like Warcraft1 and Lemmings would run well too, and perhaps Marathon unless it gets bogged down by the emulated gfx.
So I tested out Dark Forces and Master of Orion 2 last night. Dark Forces had some issues mapping the controls to the keyboard (differences between Mac and Atari keyboard special keys maybe) but I was able to figure it out trial and error-wise. It was playable, barely after tweaking the settings.

I spent about 2 hours on Master of Orion 2 though and it was awesome!

Thank you so much for all the effort getting Basilisk working for the ST/Falcon systems!

Question for the broader group: Has anyone gotten the sound to work on a Falcon? If I turn sound on, after booting into MacOS, the first sound causes the system to crash. The sound plays and then, crash.
Post Reply

Return to “SOFTWARE”