Basilisk II Atari

General Discussion, STOS.

Moderator: troed

User avatar
frank.lukas
Posts: 677
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:52 am

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by frank.lukas »

@agranlund ... working on a 020 version of Basilisk.

basilisk_020.jpg
basilisk_020.jpg (305.77 KiB) Viewed 2468 times
User avatar
frank.lukas
Posts: 677
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:52 am

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by frank.lukas »

How to set up a TOS extfs in the .inf files correctly?
peters
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2023 8:44 pm

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by peters »

I found Basilisk through Atari forum and and mentioned my issues there but I think there are more people using it here.

I think I've installed everything needed but cannot get very far.

So far when I press Start it complains that it cannot find the ROM and the machine locks up.

Has anyone else tried it on 060 hardware ?
peters
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2023 8:44 pm

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by peters »

This is my set up.

basilisk.JPG
basilisk.JPG (34.57 KiB) Viewed 2277 times
peters
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2023 8:44 pm

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by peters »

I've moved the installation folder to a vfat partition.

I also tried the Performa ROM again. Basilisk complained about the ROM being the wrong size, not 512k or 1M. Then it locked up the machine again requiring a lengthy reboot (ext2!).
User avatar
arti040
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2022 7:09 am
Location: Poland

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by arti040 »

Hi guys!
I tried to set it up yesterday using ROMs from http://www.happydaze.se/basiliskii/ but I'm constantly getting an info that ROM is not correct. What am I doing wrong?

(config - HATARI - 030, MMU ON, 4MB ST-RAM, 4MB TT-RAM, TT-RAM emulation, Geneva/Neodesk)
User avatar
andresv
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2021 12:32 am
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by andresv »

Hi there, i just installed a TwiSTer board in my STE. It has a 68020 running at 24mhz with 8mb of TT RAM.

Unfortunately it didnt work, failed booting with ERROR TYPE 97.

I'm doing something wrong?

Thanks!!

20231028_225424.jpg
20231028_225424.jpg (543.03 KiB) Viewed 1548 times
User avatar
stephen_usher
Posts: 5900
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by stephen_usher »

There may be an extension installed which only works on 68030 and above. As suggested try booting with shift held down.
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.
User avatar
frank.lukas
Posts: 677
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:52 am

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by frank.lukas »

With my PAK68/3-020 and Fastram all works fine it has a full 32bit CPU ...
User avatar
Badwolf
Posts: 2294
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by Badwolf »

Oh wow. I was about to post that I thought Basilisk II required the MMU so wasn't going to work on an 020, but I see Anders' website says the following:

Code: Select all

68020, 68030, 68040 or 68060
FPU is optional, MMU is required on 68030+
Which is remarkable!

I'd suggest give it a go on Hatari (ST High mode) and see if you get the same error?

BW
DFB1 Open source 50MHz 030 and TT-RAM accelerator for the Falcon
DSTB1 Open source 16Mhz 68k and AltRAM accelerator for the ST
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
FrontBench The Frontier: Elite 2 intro as a benchmark
Post Reply

Return to “SOFTWARE”