Basilisk II Atari

General Discussion, STOS.

Moderator: troed

peters
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2023 8:44 pm

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by peters »

Renaming the file didn't help.

Starting Basilisk under mint and then just clicking quit from the menu causes a system lock up.
coonsgm
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 1:30 am

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by coonsgm »

Woohoo! Got this working. I pulled a new Quadra Rom and also used the 7.17.22 version of Atari Basilisk II.

Using the Falcon with CT63 running in RGB mode interlaced, 64k color, and emulated video. I was able to run with 256 colors and boot up Civ 2 and run for a while.

Big thanks to @Badwolf for his help on his video suggesting trying one of the previous versions versus the latest.
PXL_20240206_001048799.jpg
PXL_20240206_001048799.jpg (221.08 KiB) Viewed 377 times
User avatar
agranlund
Posts: 777
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by agranlund »

coonsgm wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 12:15 am Woohoo! Got this working. I pulled a new Quadra Rom and also used the 7.17.22 version of Atari Basilisk II.
Using the Falcon with CT63 running in RGB mode interlaced, 64k color, and emulated video. I was able to run with 256 colors and boot up Civ 2 and run for a while.
Big thanks to @Badwolf for his help on his video suggesting trying one of the previous versions versus the latest.
PXL_20240206_001048799.jpg
Nice to see it working on the CT63! :D
I believe the latest version was the one adding support for mmu-less machines.
Sounds like I broke something related to your setup in the process, or maybe 060 in general (hard to say, I don't have access to such hardware to test on myself). Glad you got it working with the previous version though.

peters wrote: Fri Jan 19, 2024 8:13 pm My Milan is very unstable with TOS, it never used to be. I'm not sure what is going on.
Are you attempting to run Basilisk on a Milan?
It does direct access to the (non-existing on Milan) ACIA so it would most likely crash and burn quite early.


Side note, I know the last version says it requires MMU for 68030+ but you can force it to run in mmu-less mode on any CPU by putting "nommu true" in basilisk.inf.
Not using the mmu is slower, but if you have rom-in-ram and/or want to run under Mint with memory protection then that might do the trick (untested by me, and there could very well be other factors preventing it from working with either of those)
peters
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2023 8:44 pm

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by peters »

Yes on the Milan it crashes before even launching the Mac.
coonsgm
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 1:30 am

Re: Basilisk II Atari

Post by coonsgm »

I believe the latest version was the one adding support for mmu-less machines.
Sounds like I broke something related to your setup in the process, or maybe 060 in general (hard to say, I don't have access to such hardware to test on myself). Glad you got it working with the previous version though.
Not sure what it was, but the result is that running with 64k color only allowed me to select the "thousands of colors" option in MacOS.

It's awesome, and thank you for the effort and time you put into this. Super fun thing to tinker with on the Falcon. By the way I also got it running on my "short" 520ST with a TF536 inside.

No GPU like you, but using the "undo" zoom, it's not too bad. I wouldn't use it as a daily driver, but definitely a fun test to play around with.

My Mega ST with a TF536 + ET4000 on the other hand just doesn't like it. However, the TF536 has troubles running alongside with the ET4000 anyways, so I think it's more a machine noise issue than a Basilisk code issue.

In any case, thanks again!
Post Reply

Return to “SOFTWARE”