My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Darklord »

Gotcha, so the warning message I got is what is expected and I should be good.

Should I run it again and do the "-vvvv" anyway? Thanks.
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Darklord »

I decided to go ahead - here's the results. It looks okay to me.


Screenshot_20231209_155630.png
Screenshot_20231209_155630.png (97.11 KiB) Viewed 12446 times
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Darklord »

Here's my config.txt file - what part(s) am I supposed to change? Thanks.

config.txt
(482 Bytes) Downloaded 263 times

I'm assuming it's something from this section:


[pi4]
#over_voltage=9 # if arm_freq > 2.1GHz
arm_freq=1500
gpu_freq=700
gpu_mem=16
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
Steve
Posts: 2614
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Steve »

You're not expected to change anything. The config is pre-configured for you. The GitHub instructions don't tell you to change it, just to copy it to your boot directory.
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Darklord »

Hmm, I sincerely hope that something is to be changed. "core_freq" keeps getting mentioned but I can't find that
in the config.txt file except under the Pi 2 and Pi 3 sections and I've got a Pi 4. It was mentioned that it's set too
high but I'm not sure what to change since "core_freq" isn't mentioned in the Pi 4 section.

Thanks.
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Darklord »

So I decided to experiment a bit. Yeah, I know, asking for trouble.

I changed gpu_freq-700 to 500 and then 600.

[pi4]
#over_voltage=9 # if arm_freq > 2.1GHz
arm_freq=1500
gpu_freq=700 (this one)
gpu_mem=16

At 500, the memory test just freezes up and the loop test won't even start. I
had to <control C> to end it.

At 600, the tests work, albeit slower but doesn't fix anything that I could tell.

So I changed it back to the original 700.

Next... :)
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Darklord »

Okay, for anyone following this, I'm stuck at the moment.

Best estimate/guess from the Discord team (thanks gang, for
all your help!), is that my PiSTorm board, which I purchased
from the AmigaKit Store (I know, heresy, right? :) ) is simply
not communicating.

Using SSH, I can access the Pi4b I'm currently using, I can
run tests, access files, and update the firmware on the
PiSTorm itself, etc - but that's about it.

I've got a Pi3a+ on the way, should be here tomorrow, and we
will do further testing then.

Thanks all.
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Darklord »

Here is what the running Pi4b looks like sitting on top of the PiSTorm, in the 68000 CPU socket, in the STacy:


Capture2.JPG
Capture2.JPG (218.51 KiB) Viewed 12221 times
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
dad664npc
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2022 2:32 pm
Location: South East

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by dad664npc »

What's the bubble wrap for? It's not a good idea to have that stuff near/on electronic components. If it's ant-static, then it's conductive, and if it's not ant-static, it generates static
ATARI STfm, STe, Mega ST, TT, Falcon
Amstrad CPC464, CPC6128
PiStorm dev - https://github.com/gotaproblem/pistorm-atari
Pico HDC - https://bbansolutions.co.uk
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Darklord »

Already discussed this on Discord but the STacy's keyboard has a metal backing
and with all the shielding removed it would sit right on top of the daughterboard
that houses the TOS 1.4 ROMs, memory, etc., so I put something in between.

Same thing for the internal P/S. I didn't want to leave it where it could make
contact with anything and potentially destroy stuff. It is anti-static around it.

I'll swap that out for something safer....
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE DISCUSSIONS”