My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Darklord »

Okay, let's see if I've got this straight.

Since it's in development and there will be lots of changes and experimentation
going on, we want pins 2/4 on the header extender to be cut. Then, we run a +5v
USB-C cable to the USB-C port on the Pi 4 from external power. This is not from the
Atari MB or something like a Pico P/S. With this setup, when we need to power cycle
the Atari, we can safely do so without interrupting the power to the Pi 4.

So when development reaches a stage where things are ironed out and stable,
and we close up our Atari's, pins 2/4 on the extender are cut, with +5v USB-C lead
into the Pi 4's USB-C socket from internal power, presumably from the Atari's
motherboard or something like a Pico P/S, so that when you turn the Atari on
and off, it and the PiStorm/Pi 4 all power on together.

Is this right? Thanks.
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
Steve
Posts: 2614
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Steve »

You're way over thinking this. It's just that developers want to rule out undervoltage as an issue so that they know their code is causing issues and not throttling etc.

For the end-user it's not really convenient to have a usb cable running from a wall plug into their Atari.

But right now we aren't really classed as end users, we're all alpha testers.

You just decide based on your own needs/wants :)
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Darklord »

Well, just going by the conversation in the Discord channel, it seems to me that
things are definitely still in the development stage and very much in flux.

I've got my STacy apart anyway for other mods/upgrades I'm going to attempt,
so it's not an issue for me to keep that separate USB P/S for the Pi 4 for now.

I get your point though, and I do tend to way overthink things. Just overly
cautious I guess.

BTW, with the separate P/S arrangement for development, I'm still not clear
on which should be powered up first - the Atari or the PiSTorm/Pi 4? Thanks.
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
Steve
Posts: 2614
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Steve »

Darklord wrote: Fri Dec 08, 2023 5:52 pm BTW, with the separate P/S arrangement for development, I'm still not clear
on which should be powered up first - the Atari or the PiSTorm/Pi 4? Thanks.
It does not matter. The stacy won't do anything till you run the emulator anyway.
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Darklord »

Steve wrote: Fri Dec 08, 2023 9:34 pm
Darklord wrote: Fri Dec 08, 2023 5:52 pm BTW, with the separate P/S arrangement for development, I'm still not clear
on which should be powered up first - the Atari or the PiSTorm/Pi 4? Thanks.
It does not matter. The stacy won't do anything till you run the emulator anyway.
Oh, okay - thanks! :)
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Darklord »

Hmm, okay - being dense again I guess but where do I look to figure out whether I
have the "EPM240 or EPM570" so I can flash the PiSTorm's firmware? Thanks...

[EDIT]
Never mind - answered on the Discord channel.

It's text on one of the chips on the PiSTorm board itself... "EPM240" in my case.
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Darklord »

Okay... I managed to find it, it looks like "EPM240". I did the firmware update and got an (apparently expected) error message. I ran the memory test. Lots of errors. Here's some pictures (I SSH'ed in from my Kubuntu Linux laptop). This STacy has 4 megs of RAM. Currently the SC1224 monitor is showing a white screen - I reckon it's supposed to be like that until the emulator is run? Anyways, waiting for further instructions as to how to proceed from here. Thanks.

(I also posted this to the PiSTorm Discord channel)

Screenshot_20231208_220453.png
Screenshot_20231208_220453.png (53.74 KiB) Viewed 12722 times
Screenshot_20231208_220629.png
Screenshot_20231208_220629.png (112.25 KiB) Viewed 12722 times
Screenshot_20231208_220642.png
Screenshot_20231208_220642.png (114.31 KiB) Viewed 12722 times
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
Steve
Posts: 2614
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Steve »

I don't know about it being apparently expected (the error message) but when I flash mine it always says: epm240 found / flashing / flash successful. So I don't think your firmware has flashed.
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by Darklord »

Steve wrote: Sat Dec 09, 2023 11:25 am I don't know about it being apparently expected (the error message) but when I flash mine it always says: epm240 found / flashing / flash successful. So I don't think your firmware has flashed.
Oh...I was going by the github readme:

"Expect a "Warning" to be shown. This can be ignored."
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
dad664npc
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2022 2:32 pm
Location: South East

Re: My (attempted) PiSTorm STacy installation

Post by dad664npc »

The flashing method has changed as openocd no longer works for us.
The replacement tool, "pistormflash", is included in the rtl directory. It produces a warning message, not an error message. The warning message is expected.
ATARI STfm, STe, Mega ST, TT, Falcon
Amstrad CPC464, CPC6128
PiStorm dev - https://github.com/gotaproblem/pistorm-atari
Pico HDC - https://bbansolutions.co.uk
Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE DISCUSSIONS”