Falcon clock patch V4 series

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
Post Reply
User avatar
Badwolf
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by Badwolf »

I did go through and check all the filter and limit settings, so unless I'm reading the UI incorrectly, I'm pretty sure they're off.

BW
DFB1 Open source 50MHz 030 and TT-RAM accelerator for the Falcon
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
FrontBench The Frontier: Elite 2 intro as a benchmark
User avatar
Swissfalcon
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2024 9:37 pm

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by Swissfalcon »

May I ask where you are measuring both signals exactly (ideally with a pic)?
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24280
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by exxos »

Swissfalcon wrote: Mon Jul 08, 2024 4:11 pm May I ask where you are measuring both signals exactly (ideally with a pic)?
Across the 47pF cap.

v4s3.jpg
v4s3.jpg (334.14 KiB) Viewed 288 times

I even run a simulation on the same values as used in the actual circuit...

1.PNG
1.PNG (4.08 KiB) Viewed 285 times
2.PNG
2.PNG (13.79 KiB) Viewed 285 times

Is about as close as you're going to get to a actual circuit...

IMG_2345.JPG
IMG_2345.JPG (62.52 KiB) Viewed 283 times

With a extra 100pF which would be more like a X1 probe.. You get this result.. Which is what most other people are seeing..

3.PNG
3.PNG (15.99 KiB) Viewed 279 times

So for some reason there has to be like 100pF extra somewhere to get those results. Or BW limit on the scope or something. Or people are fitting the wrong parts during installation.. Or there is something different on some peoples falcons somewhere. I really have no idea..
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Swissfalcon
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2024 9:37 pm

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by Swissfalcon »

Thanks. I just ordered both patches. I will report what I get with the V4. Don't we have three separated signal to measure? This one is for the DMA, but where do I measure the others one?
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24280
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by exxos »

Swissfalcon wrote: Mon Jul 08, 2024 4:28 pm Thanks. I just ordered both patches. I will report what I get with the V4. Don't we have tree separated signal to measure? This one is for the DMA, but where do I measure the others one?
Not sure what other signals you are referring to ?

I assume the FPU ? That is tricky. You have to do it on the back of the cap on the back of the motherboard with some flyer leads probably. Or on top of the FPU socket clock pin. But if people are not seeing the clock as expected on the SDMA, then all the other clocks are pretty much irrelevant at this point anyway.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Swissfalcon
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2024 9:37 pm

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by Swissfalcon »

I assumed that as we have 3 separated wires, the 3 traces has to be measured separately. Ok, got it, I will measure where you pointed, thanks .-)
Steve
Posts: 2752
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by Steve »

@Swissfalcon we only measured the SDMA signal because that is the main reason a clock patch is required. The SDMA signal is routed across the entire motherboard, through bends and dog-legs, which causes signal degregation.
User avatar
Swissfalcon
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2024 9:37 pm

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by Swissfalcon »

ok, thanks for the clarification.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24280
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by exxos »

Atari Falcon running JOY demo with exxos clock patch V4 and DFB1X accelerator.

https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
mikro
Posts: 527
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:22 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by mikro »

The funny thing is that it is actually impossible to tell - the whole demo runs 50 FPS even on standard Falcon. ;-)
Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE DISCUSSIONS”