Falcon clock patch V4 series

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
Post Reply
User avatar
Swissfalcon
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2024 9:37 pm

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by Swissfalcon »

ok, make sense, thanks for the infos!
User avatar
Badwolf
Posts: 2344
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by Badwolf »

exxos wrote: Sat Jul 06, 2024 3:32 pm BTW is your scope a 1052 like mine ?
Yes, I think so. Definitely two channel without analyser.

BW
DFB1 Open source 50MHz 030 and TT-RAM accelerator for the Falcon
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
FrontBench The Frontier: Elite 2 intro as a benchmark
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24275
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by exxos »

Badwolf wrote: Mon Jul 08, 2024 11:10 am Yes, I think so. Definitely two channel without analyser.
Did you do the "100MHz hack" on it ?
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
Badwolf
Posts: 2344
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by Badwolf »

exxos wrote: Mon Jul 08, 2024 11:12 am
Badwolf wrote: Mon Jul 08, 2024 11:10 am Yes, I think so. Definitely two channel without analyser.
Did you do the "100MHz hack" on it ?
No. Not yet.

I'm aware of it, but haven't really needed the bandwidth yet, so have put it to the back of my mind.

Is it straightforward? I don't remember the details.

BW
DFB1 Open source 50MHz 030 and TT-RAM accelerator for the Falcon
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
FrontBench The Frontier: Elite 2 intro as a benchmark
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24275
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by exxos »

Badwolf wrote: Mon Jul 08, 2024 11:22 am I'm aware of it, but haven't really needed the bandwidth yet, so have put it to the back of my mind.

Is it straightforward? I don't remember the details.
I think there was multiple ways of doing it.. I do have some firmware but not really sure what those files are. From what I remember you just needed to update the firmware, but the current firmware did not allow changing the model number to the more expensive model, so you had to flash a older version of the firmware 1st to allow the upgrade to the more expensive model. I think some others may be doing it over a command line now..

You can get down to 2ns time/div as well..





There could possibly be other mods which I cannot remember.. Is a lot of talk about the Rigol scopes having capacitors which act as a filter which also limit the bandwidth. But I wouldn't really expect measurement errors at 16Mhz anyway. But I suppose, if there is a cap on the scope input filter, it could still act like its got a X1 probe connected.

@Steve said he has the same scope and did the same hack. But his results match yours.. So I have asked them to verify that his mod was actually successful..

But it does pose rather a odd problem as to why I get different results than you guys do. I mean X1 prob adds capacitance and with the extra load I would expect the square wave to look more like a sinewave. So the results I get look as expected. However you guys don't seem to have any difference between X1 and X10.. So I can only assume you have some sort of bandwidth limit in place or the scope probes are really bad in X10 mode. Or they could be some other bizarre issue somewhere, I really have no idea..
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Steve
Posts: 2751
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by Steve »

I think I used this Github: https://github.com/szafranski/Rigol_DS1052E-firmware

Apparently he simplified the process.. Was pretty straight forward I think. I'll check mine when I get home to see if it goes to 2ns.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24275
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by exxos »

@Steve do you remember anything or seeing anything about changing the input filter on the scope ?

There is some chatter about it
https://mightyohm.com/blog/2010/03/rigo ... onversion/

But the thread is 34 pages long on EEVblog :roll: but looking at similar schemes which have been modded, it was just a simple capacitor removal.

EDIT: So there must be some other hack somewhere..
So my "hack" was just to remove the capacitor on the VoutHI pin
Yes, I modified second channel on my 1102E last night. I removed both (HI & LO) caps, btw. they are 160pF on my scope.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Steve
Posts: 2751
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by Steve »

From what I've read, the hardware hack came first. Then the software hack 'obsoleted' the hardware hack.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 24275
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by exxos »

You are probably right, though that capacitor seems like it may be linked to the 20Mhz bandwidth limit setting on the scope. But on that basis the mod would be irrelevant as it just simply turn off the bandwidth limit in the scope settings. So obviously there must be a 50Mhz bandwidth limit also which must be on one of those caps..

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/chat/the- ... 7/#msg2697

CIRCUIT.jpg
CIRCUIT.jpg (5.76 KiB) Viewed 165 times
ADC_AMP1.jpg
ADC_AMP1.jpg (93.01 KiB) Viewed 165 times

So I tried bandwidth limit on and off and I then see the results which other people are.. But this would then mean you guys are all doing these measurements with the bandwidth limit setting ON :shrug:

IMG_2345.JPG
IMG_2345.JPG (267.13 KiB) Viewed 165 times
IMG_2346.JPG
IMG_2346.JPG (224.2 KiB) Viewed 165 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Steve
Posts: 2751
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Falcon clock patch V4 series

Post by Steve »

I might have been ... The ground in my house is extremely noisy and often makes it impossible for me to use my scope. So perhaps I had bandwidth limit enabled.
Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE DISCUSSIONS”