My summer project: A colour Stacy

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My summer project: A colour Stacy

Post by Darklord »

Unbelievable. They cancelled my order... :(

I reordered it - we'll see what happens.
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
derkom
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1217
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: My summer project: A colour Stacy

Post by derkom »

Sounds like [they think] you haven't told them the model number for the panel.
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My summer project: A colour Stacy

Post by Darklord »

I've sent it - it looks like it might actually be shipping now.

Keeping my fingers crossed... :)
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My summer project: A colour Stacy

Post by Darklord »

So I do have that screen and controller board in now and I'm dying to get it setup.

They didn't include a power lead for the LCD itself.

What did everyone use and/or recommend for that?

Also, I posted this in another place but haven't received any answers yet but, I do
want to continue using the serial port on my STacy. I'm told that requires the motherboard
to have +12v coming in from the Pico P/S, instead of +5v.

Previously, I had powered my STacy with a Pico P/S but by sending +5v into the 2nd floppy
drive power lead, which worked fine.

So any suggestions as to where to connect +12v into the STacy's motherboard?

Thanks.
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
derkom
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1217
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: My summer project: A colour Stacy

Post by derkom »

Darklord wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 3:11 am So I do have that screen and controller board in now and I'm dying to get it setup.

They didn't include a power lead for the LCD itself.
Are you sure about that? The LVDS connection in my setup includes power in the same cable as video.
Previously, I had powered my STacy with a Pico P/S but by sending +5v into the 2nd floppy
drive power lead, which worked fine.

So any suggestions as to where to connect +12v into the STacy's motherboard?
I did discover along the way that the floppy power connectors in the Stacy do not have +12V, so as you've noticed, they cannot be used for 12V injection.

I think injecting through the floppy connectors is pretty sloppy anyway, introduces unnecessary length of wires, and feeds power through a connector not designed to carry much current.

As you can see in this post, I fed all my power in via the original PSU headers on the motherboard, which I replaced with 90° headers to free up vertical space. A lot changed after that post of course, but the power connection remained like that. This connection does, of course, provide for +12V input.
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My summer project: A colour Stacy

Post by Darklord »

Hey Derkom, thanks for the (quick) reply.

Hmm, maybe I'm just looking at it wrong? Here's a picture:

20240321_120953.jpg
20240321_120953.jpg (184.81 KiB) Viewed 197 times

Gotcha, thanks for that link - I'll grab my +12v power from there
for the Pico P/S. Now I'll just have to sort out which pin is which.

Thanks again! :)

PS In the picture from the post you linked - what is the white block
attached to the Pico P/S? When I used mine originally I didn't use
anything like that - I just used a switch with 2 wires into the Pico P/S
to turn it on and off with and connected everything else to the
original leads coming off the Pico itself.
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My summer project: A colour Stacy

Post by Darklord »

Like this...

20240331_151122.jpg
20240331_151122.jpg (209.45 KiB) Viewed 196 times
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
derkom
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1217
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: My summer project: A colour Stacy

Post by derkom »

Darklord wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2024 8:03 pm Hmm, maybe I'm just looking at it wrong? Here's a picture:
Yep, power is carried in the black cable between the controller board and the panel.
PS In the picture from the post you linked - what is the white block
attached to the Pico P/S?
That's an ATX breakout plug, with only the necessary wires connected on the other side. It's not required, but it made for tidy connections.
User avatar
Darklord
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: My summer project: A colour Stacy

Post by Darklord »

Okay, I think my improper use of the English language is the barrier here.

I stated, "They didn't include a power lead for the LCD itself.", when I
actually meant a power lead for the controller board with the VGA, DVI,
and HDMI connectors on it. I just assumed that the black connector on
the bottom, left hand corner was for power, and that this would feed both
the LCD and the board.

Otherwise, I am totally and pathetically confused as to how +12v power is
going to get to anything on that picture I posted... :roll:

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (6.27 KiB) Viewed 183 times

Thanks, and sorry for the confusion...
Welcome To DarkForce! www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS-Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
derkom
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1217
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: My summer project: A colour Stacy

Post by derkom »

Oh that! IIRC I just desoldered the barrel jack from the board and added a little snap connector on a pigtail, then routed 12V up from the main body of the Stacy alongside the HDMI cable and terminated that with the matching snap connector. Really just any reasonable way to take the 12V off the picoPSU and bring it up into the lid will work fine.
Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE DISCUSSIONS”