Dead TT030 Repair

Problems with your machine in general.
User avatar
grunwald
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 12:45 am
Location: United States

Dead TT030 Repair

Post by grunwald »

I purchased three dead TT030s about eight years ago and have managed to repair two of them. The last one is turning out to be the most difficult. If I boot without a diagnosis cartridge, I get a pulse on the BERR line and no activity on the Bus. The Halt line however still stays high. I also get the video shown below (white screen, blue bars) consistently. If I insert the diagnosis cartridge, I get a black screen with continuing activity across both data and address busses. I do not get anything through the serial port. To date, I have changed the CPU (came to me with damaged pins), MCU, DMAC on the serial side, TTVIDEO, and both GALS. I have probed all bus lines and have eliminated all shorts and open lines to the processor. I have also recapped the power supply and verified outputs. Has anyone seen the display below?

20240505_234014.jpg
20240505_234014.jpg (218.71 KiB) Viewed 1071 times
20240505_234055.jpg
20240505_234055.jpg (377.12 KiB) Viewed 1071 times
User avatar
frank.lukas
Posts: 677
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:52 am

Re: Dead TT030 Repair

Post by frank.lukas »

... my guess is a problem with the onboard 2MB ST RAM.

Use the Test cart and a null modem cable to a other computer with a serial terminal running 9600baud8N1
User avatar
grunwald
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 12:45 am
Location: United States

Re: Dead TT030 Repair

Post by grunwald »

I have the unit connected to a PC running a terminal prog. I get nothing coming across with the cartridge installed. I validated the hook up with another TT just to be sure. I get the full diagnostic menu on that one. Would a memory issue stop the data on the RS232 port?
User avatar
frank.lukas
Posts: 677
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:52 am

Re: Dead TT030 Repair

Post by frank.lukas »

Work with the schematics and measure all Ram Data and Address lines and RAS, CAS, WE ...

https://forum.atari-home.de/index.php/t ... #msg268418

... use the Google Website Translator.
tomster
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 8:34 am

Re: Dead TT030 Repair

Post by tomster »

Had pretty much the same screen when I had issues with my ST RAM extension card. In my case it just wasn't properly inserted.
User avatar
grunwald
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 12:45 am
Location: United States

Re: Dead TT030 Repair

Post by grunwald »

I went back and remeasured the entire bus last night and all lines are good at 10k. The lower data bus however, is being pulled high when I boot with the cartridge. At about midnight, I discovered that the data lines D1-D7, on funnel U209, are displaying a signal. while the same lines on funnel U205 are being pulled high. Since they are wired in parallel, I assume that U205 is bad. I plan to pull and replace it tonight with a new spare. More to come....
User avatar
grunwald
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 12:45 am
Location: United States

Re: Dead TT030 Repair

Post by grunwald »

Changing the funnels has had no effect. I hooked the entire bus to my logic analyzer and found the following. When booting with the diagnostic cartridge, D0-D15 go active, then immediately are pulled high. D16-D31 stay fully active. A0-A15 are fully active. A17, A19, A20, A21, A22, A23 are all held high. The rest are fully active. I have been searching the schematics for a chip that would effect only these bus lines, with no success. When powered down, all buss lines are at 10K. I have new dram ordered along with a ram tester. Most of the major chips are now socketed. I may pull and replace the remaining dmac, dcu, and glue to complete that process....
User avatar
grunwald
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 12:45 am
Location: United States

Re: Dead TT030 Repair

Post by grunwald »

I ended up adding sockets and swapping out the remaining dmac, dcu and glue chips. I already had the spares and figured one less thing to worry about. That did not affect anything. Yesterday I received replacement drams so spent a couple hours adding sockets. Progress! A little at least. With the cartridge in, the system begins the initial system check, very slowly one character at a time and stops at the MFP timer. Without the cartridge l, it display the Atari logo and stops. I am heading out camping for the weekend and will jump back in next week.
20240524_074814.jpg
20240524_074814.jpg (377.06 KiB) Viewed 693 times
20240523_224023.jpg
20240523_224023.jpg (357.06 KiB) Viewed 693 times
20240524_003830.jpg
20240524_003830.jpg (199.21 KiB) Viewed 693 times
20240524_074843.jpg
20240524_074843.jpg (177.78 KiB) Viewed 693 times
User avatar
grunwald
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 12:45 am
Location: United States

Re: Dead TT030 Repair

Post by grunwald »

Made a bit more progress last night with the memory check now completing. I also found that the 2.457 clock is active on the inverter at U606B (74HCT04N) Pin3, but not on Pin4. I pulled/socketed the chip and will have a new one by Friday. Hoping that is causing the T0 MFP error.
20240527_003601.jpg
20240527_003601.jpg (207.28 KiB) Viewed 567 times
Steve
Posts: 2696
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Dead TT030 Repair

Post by Steve »

Good progress, thanks for documenting it! Perhaps when it's over you could summarise the faults & fixes for future reference.
Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE ISSUES”