Atari 1040ST Green Screen..

Problems with your machine in general.
mikasonic1

Atari 1040ST Green Screen..

Post by mikasonic1 »

Hi

I have an Atari 1040ST which i use for music production which i have had since the early 1990´s. It worked flawless up until around 2010 when it was put in storage until late last year when i took it out again to use on a project and it didn´t start up. Being an audio electronics tech i decided that before i would go any further, due to its age, i would change all of the Electrolytic caps in the PSU and on the Main PCB and check/resolder all of soldering on the back of the pcb.

After doing all of this i realised that the Floppy drive had seized up and my monochrome monitor was also dead, so i decided to go for a Gotek emulator and a VGA Monitor solution which i foolishly thought was just a VGA converter cable.. After going through all of that 15khz nonsense, i finally purchased a GBS 8220 VGA converter PCB and then found out i needed to build a V Ref + H ref Merge circuit which i did and finally got a 'picture' from the Atari on the VGA monitor which was just a white border and black box on boot up, no desk top icons etc..

So after reading internet forum posts which seemed to point to a DRAM issue, i decided to buy the EXXOS 4mb RAM upgrade which arrived last week and installed no problem. Now all i get when booting is either a completely grey or green screen (depending if i use Monochrome or RGB cable wiring). For a few seconds on power on, there is a vertical pattern that moves fairly fast upwards and is the same size square box as the black square box in the center before the RAM upgrade. Also on some power ups it has a light grey border with a darker grey box and shows that vertical pattern for a few seconds. Mostly it is just a totally grey or green screen. So something has changed since the RAM installation as there is no longer a black box.